Stevens County, Minnesota Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Stevens County, Minnesota)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Minnesota


Stevens County


Guide to Stevens County, Minnesota ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}


Stevens County, Minnesota
Map
Map of Minnesota highlighting Stevens County
Location in the state of Minnesota
Map of the U.S. highlighting Minnesota
Location of Minnesota in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 20, 1862
County Seat Morris
Courthouse
Address Stevens County Courthouse
400 Colorado Avenue
Morris, MN 56267
Phone: 320-589-7287
Phone: 320.589.7414
Stevens County Website


County Information

Stevens County, Minnesota Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1872 1869 1872 1850 1871 1875

County Courthouse

Clerk District Court has birth and death records from 1872,
marriage records from 1869, divorce and court records
from 1873 and probate records from 1901.
County Recorder has land records from 1871. [2]

History

Parent County

1862--Stevens County was created 20 February 1862 from Pierce (Eliminated 20 Feb 1862) County and unorganized territory.
County seat: Morris [3]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Populated Places[4]

Cities
Townships

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
USGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
MNGenWeb Archives
EPodunk
Billion Graves
See Minnesota Cemeteries for more information.

Census

State Census

Church

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Minnesota Church Records.


Lutheran

First Lutheran Church, Morris

Church

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Minnesota Church Records.


Lutheran

First Lutheran Church, Morris

Court

Emigration and Immigration

Land

The county register of deeds keeps land records once the land was transferred to private ownership. Abstracts and indexes for these records are generally available at the county courthouse.

Land records for Minnesota are listed in the Place Search of the FamilySearch Catalog under:

MINNESOTA, Stevens – LAND AND PROPERTY


Local Histories

Local histories are available for Stevens County, Minnesota Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Minnesota Local Histories.

Maps

Mnstevens.jpg

Military

Newspapers/Periodicals

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Stevens County, Minnesota Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

History of The Chokio Review

Obituaries

Probate

Probate records may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. They may include the decedent’s date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, etc. See Minnesota Probate Records for additional information.


Online Probate Records

Taxation

Minnesota tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Minnesota Taxation.


Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Minnesota State Registrar of Vital Records, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred], order electronically online ($) or download an application for Minnesota Birth Certificate and Death Certificates Applications to mail.

See also Minnesota Vital Records or How to order Minnesota Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.


Birth
Marriage
Death


Societies and Libraries

Stevens County Historical Society
116 West 6th Street
Morris, MN 56267
Telephone: 320-589-1719
E-mail:info@stevenshistorymuseum.com
Website




Minnesota, Stevens County Genealogical Society Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

c/o Morris Public Library
102 East 6th Street
Morris, MN 56267

102 East 6th Street
Morris, MN 56267
320-589-1634 (phone)
320-589-8892 (fax)

662 6th Street
P.O. Box 305
Hancock, MN 56244
320-392-5666 (phone)
320-392-5666 (fax)

600 East 4th Street
Morris, MN 56267
320-589-6176

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Web Sites

References

  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 385-403. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Stevens County, Minnesota page 369, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Stevens County Government Webpage. http://www.co.stevens.mn.us/index.aspx?nid=871 (accessed November 7, 2011).
  5. 5.0 5.1 "Evangelical Lutheran Church in America: An Inventory of Selected Congregational Records of the American Lutheran Church in Minnesota at the Minnesota Historical Society," Collection Finding Aids, Minnesota Historical Society, http://www.mnhs.org/library/findaids/01009.xml, accessed 10 June 2013.
  6. Minnesota Historical Society Library Catalogue: Stevens County Newspapers. (accessed November 7, 2011).




Retrieved from "https://familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=Stevens_County,_Minnesota_Genealogy&oldid=2781361"