Stevington, Bedfordshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Stevington, Bedfordshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Bedfordshire Gotoarrow.png Bedfordshire Parishes

Guide to Stevington, Bedfordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Stevington, Bedfordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Willey
County Bedfordshire
Poor Law Union Bedford
Registration District Bedford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1654
Bishop's Transcripts: 1602
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Clapham
Diocese Pre-1837 - Lincoln; Post-1836 - Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Bedford
Location of Archive
Bedfordshire Record Office

Parish History

STEVINGTON (St. Mary), a parish, in the hundred of Willey, union and county of Bedford, 5½ miles (N. W. by W.) from Bedford. [1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Stevington, Bedfordshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
GIBBS = Bedfordshire Parish Registers by Steven Gibbs - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[4]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[5]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[6]
Stevington, Bedfordshire Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1880-1885


IGI 1603-1875 1603-1885


TGEN 1603-1616


To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Baptists
  • Primitive Methodists

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241195.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Bedfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions


Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Stevington on GENUKI


  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 200-205. Date accessed: 21 November 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 10 April 2014.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Bedfordshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 21 April 2014.
  4. 'National Burial Index - Bedfordshire Coverage,' findmypast (WayBack Machine), accessed 17 April 2014.
  5. Pallot's Marriage and Births Indexes: Guide to Parishes, n.d.; digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  6. 'Parish Records,' TheGenealogist, accessed 25 April 2014.