Stirlingshire, Scotland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Stirlingshire Parishes)
Jump to: navigation, search

ScotlandGotoarrow.pngStirlingshire

Scotland Wiki Topics
Flag of Scotland.jpg
Beginning Research
Record Types
Scotland Background
Local Research Resources



Stirling Castle
Scotland-stirlingshire.png

Background Information

Guide to Stirlingshire, Scotland Genealogy ancestry, family history and genealogy parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records. Stirlingshire is a county in the eastern part of Scotland, bounded on the north by Perthshire and Clackmannanshire, on the east by the county of Linlithgow, on the south-east by part of Lanarkshire, and on the south and the west by the county of Dumbarton.  It is about 45 miles in length and 19 miles in extreme breadth, comprising an area of about 489 square miles or 312,960 acres.

There are many Roman remains in the county.  Kenneth II is said to have obtained his victory over the Picts (c.971) at a location near the city of Stirling.  The Northumbrian Saxons had control over the area until it was recovered by Kenneth III (c.997).  In the reign of the Stuarts (from 1371) Stirling castle became a royal residence, and the history of Stirlingshire has been closely identified with the general history of Scotland ever since.

The county contains 21 parishes, including the detached parish of Alva.  The sheriff's court is at Stirling which is the county town and the only royal burgh.  The county also includes the burgh of Falkirk and several thriving and pleasant towns and villages.

The population of the county in 1851 was 82,057.

(Source:  Samuel Lewis' Topographical Dictionary of Scotland, 2nd ed., 1851.  Family History Library book 941 E5L, 2 vols.)

Scotlands People: An Important Online Source

ScotlandsPeople is one of the largest online sources of original genealogical information. If you are researching UK genealogy, your Scottish ancestry or building your Scottish family tree, they have more than 100 million records to look through.

The comprehensive choice of Scottish records includes:

  • Statutory Registers
  • Old Parish Registers
  • Catholic Parish Registers
  • CPR Others
  • Census
  • Valuation Rolls
  • Soldiers’ Wills
  • Wills & Testaments
  • Coats of Arms

Many census records have been indexed by surname. Some indexes cover one parish (and will be listed in the Wiki on the parish page) and some indexes are for the county as a whole. The Family History Library has county-wide census placename indexes for Aberdeenshire for 1881.  Click here for other census indexes available at the library.

For more detail on exact record availability, see Availability. For examples of the records available, see Record Types and Examples. More information on the site, its contents, and instructions for using it can be found in the ScotlandsPeople Wiki article. Indexes may be searched for free, and there is a small pay per view fee to see the actual digitized record.

Census

Many census records have been indexed by surname. Some indexes cover one parish (and will be listed in the Wiki on the parish page) and some indexes are for the county as a whole. The Family History Library has county-wide census placename indexes for Stirlingshire for 1881.  Click here for other census indexes available at the library.

Church Records

Civil Registration or Statutory Registers

For details on information found in statutory registers and other methods of searching them, see Scotland Statutory Registers - Vital Records.

Refer to the ScotlandsPeople Wiki article.
Images and Indexes Available at ScotlandsPeople Website ($)
Images-Years
Indexes
Births 1855-1910 ◊ScotlandsPeople Website has indexes to 2012.
Marriages 1855-1935
Deaths 1855-1960

Parishes

Some of the Stirling-shire parish records are indexed in Stirling, Scotland, Extracted Parish Records.

This database is a collection of historical parish registers from the county of Stirling in the country of Scotland. The records in this collection can range in date from the early 1500s to the mid- to late-1800s. The records include baptisms/christenings, burials, marriages, tombstone inscriptions, obituaries, tax lists, wills, and other miscellaneous types of records. Also included are some records from non-conformist churches. You will find interesting phonetic spelling. Some of the records may be in Latin or even a Welsh or Scottish dialect. Due to the nature of the records and because the records were originally compiled by a third party, it is difficult to absolutely verify the completeness and validity of the data.

Here is a list of historic parishes for the county of Stirling.  Click on a parish name for information about records. Click on this link for an outline map of the parishes of Stirlingshire.


Parish No.   Parish No.
Airth 469  Killearn 482
Alva 470  Kilsyth 483
Baldernock 471  Kippen 484
Balfron 472  Larbert 485
Bothkennar      473  Monyabroch (see Kilsyth) 483
Buchannan 474 Muiravonside 486
Campsie 475 Polmont 487
Denny 476 St. Ninians 488
Drymen 477 Slamannan 489
Dunipace 478 Stirling 490
Falkirk 479 Strathblane 491
Fintry 480
Gargunnock 481

Maps


Poorhouse Records

There are two poorhouses:

Societies

CSFHS Secretary
4 Fir Lane
Larbert
FK5 3LW
Scotland
email secretary

Scottish Genealogy Society
15 Victoria Terrace
Edinburgh
EH1 2JL
Scotland
Phone-0131 220 3677
Email enquiries@scotsgenealogy.com

Websites