Stockton on the Forest, Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to Stockton on the Forest, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Stockton on the Forest, Yorkshire|
|Poor Law Union||York|
|Parish registers: 1653|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1600|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of the Prebend of Bugthorp|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
Stockton on the Forest Holy Trinity is an Ecclesiastical Parish formed in 1738 as a chapelry within;Bugthorpe, Yorkshire Ancient Parish. The village and civil parish of Stockton on the Forest are within the unitary authority of the City of York Stockton on the forest Wikipedia
STOCKTON-on-the-Forest, a parish, in the wapentake of Bulmer, union and N. riding of York, 4 miles (N. E.) from York. 
In 1808 the medieval church was replaced and in turn in 1898 the present church replaced it. The Agar family are patrons of each of the early church buildings and some of the church plate.
For further history see A History of the County of York North Riding: Volume 2 (1923), pp. 190-193
The Methodist church closed in 2010.
Records from York Registration District held at York are included in the online index available at Yorkshire BMD for post 1837 events; view the coverage table to check progress on the availability of index search.
- Church of England marriages.
- Civil Marriages at register offices, or non-conformist churches where a registrar was required to be present at the ceremony.
- Authorised Person marriages. These cover the non-conformist places of worship which applied to keep their own registers as a result of the Marriage Act, 1898 (bringing them into line with Jewish and Quaker marriages which had this status since 1837). In such cases an 'Authorised Person' (usually the minister or priest) recorded the ceremony instead of the registrar. Earlier weddings in these places would be included with civil marriage registers.
A secondary index of Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these . There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD however this secondary index may omit the event and may not contain the detail of the Yorkshire BMD index
Online data content from parish registers of Stockton on the Forest exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|IARC = Internet Archive - free|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|ANC = ancestry.co.uk (£)|
|HATH = HathiTrust.org - free|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|STOCKTON ON THE FOREST PARISH (1653) Online Records|
For a full list of all those chapels surrounding **Chapelry** and comprising the whole ancient parish of Stockton on the Forest to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the Stockton on the Forest page.
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
(i) baptisms and burials 1653 to 1785, marriages 1653 to 1753 including transcript of second register
(ii) mixed entries 1727 to 1782
(iii) marriages 1756 to 1808
(iv) baptisms and burials 1785 to 1808
(v) baptisms 1808 to 1812
(vi) burials 1808 to 1812
(vii) marriages 1809 to 1812.
A History of the County of York North Riding: Volume 2 (1923), pp. 190-193.
Deposited registers Borthwick Institute University of York
Marriages: 1653-1811, 1813-1939
1600, 1601, 1605, 1607, 1608, 1614, 1615, 1635, 1636, 1661-1664,1666, 1668-1670, 1672, 1674, 1687, 1691, 1693-1704, 1708-1714, 1716, 1719, 1724-1727, 1729-1742, 1744-1837, 1841-1864 ( source Institute Catalogue)
Link to the Family History Library film numbers in their collection.Stockton on the Forest
International Genealogical Index Christenings 1653-1729, 1729-1864, 1864-1877; Marriages 1653-1729, 1729-1837, 1837-1886
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464229.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 209-215.Date accessed: 16 October 2013.