Stockton upon Tees Holy Trinity, Durham Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Durham Gotoarrow.png Durham Parishes

Guide to Stockton upon Tees Holy Trinity, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Stockton upon Tees Holy Trinity, Durham
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Stockton
County Durham
Poor Law Union Stockton
Registration District Stockton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1835
Bishop's Transcripts: 1838
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Stockton
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Durham Record Office

Parish History

STOCKTON-UPONTEES (St. Thomas), an incorporated market-town, an inland port, a parish, and the head of a union, in the S. W. division of Stockton ward, S. division of the county of Durham; containing, with the townships of Preston and East Hartburn, 10,071 inhabitants, of whom 9825 are in the town, 20 miles (S. S. E.) from Durham, and 244 (N. by W.) from London.The church, dedicated to the Holy Trinity, to which a district containing a population of 4000 persons has been assigned, occupies a site given by Bishop Van Mildert.n of a grant of £600 from the Incorporated Society. The living is a perpetual curacy; net income, £300; patron, the Bishop. There are places of worship for Particular Baptists, the Society of Friends, Independents, Primitive Methodists, Unitarians, Wesleyans, and Roman Catholics.[1]

Additional information:

Originally Holy Trinity Stockton on Tees was created as a chapel of ease within the parish of Stockton upon Tees St Thomas in 1837. Later, the chapels of Stockton St James in 1868 and Stockton St John the Baptist in 1872 were added within the town.

Stockton was formerly a chapelry, in the parish of Norton (which also see), from which it was separated by an act of parliament obtained in 1713. The ancient chapel, supposed to have been erected about the year 1237, was taken down, and the present church was completed in 1712.


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections Reference number: DDR/EA/PBT/2/243 Date: July 1838-1852  Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records. Engineering work will be undertaken in future to improve access to the Parish Register transcripts. These at present are found under Stockton upon Tees for the year range 1838-1852.

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

Stockton, Holy Trinity

The registers for the period 1838-1982 are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL (EP/Sto.HT).

Stockton, St James

The registers for the period 1868-1959 are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL (EP/Sto.Ja).

Non-Conformist Churches


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241357.

Poor Law Unions

Stockton Poor Law Union, Durham

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Stockton upon Tees on GENUKI


  1. Lewis, Samuel A., [ A Topographical Dictionary of England], (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 10 December 2013.