Stockton upon Tees St Thomas, Durham Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Durham Gotoarrow.png Durham Parishes

Guide to Stockton upon Tees St Thomas, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Stockton upon Tees St Thomas, Durham
Stockton St Thomas Co Durham.jpg
Stockton St Thomas Co Durham
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Stockton
County Durham
Poor Law Union Stockton
Registration District Stockton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1621
Bishop's Transcripts: 1762
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Stockton
Diocese Durham
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Durham Record Office

Parish History

STOCKTON-UPON-TEES (St. Thomas), an incorporated market-town, an inland port, a parish (by at least 1622), and the head of a union, in the S. W. division of Stockton ward, S. division of the county of Durham. Other chapels included Holy Trinity ()1838), St John the Baptist (1872) and St James (1868). There are places of worship for Particular Baptists, the Society of Friends, Independents, Primitive Methodists, Unitarians, Wesleyans, and Roman Catholics. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT/2/244 April 1762-1868 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records. In addition at DDR/EA/PBT/2/242 there are the transcripts for the Stockton Friends Burial Ground Register Transcripts 1865-1897

The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.

Known issue The Burial register images within the collection are not displayed correctly for the images 629-644 in the year range 1798-1832 for the year 1832 from entry number 2008. This issue awaits correction by engineers.

The Parish Registers for the period 1621-1958 are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL (EP/Sto).

FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Non Conformist Churches
  • Baptist
  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Presbyterian Unitarian
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Roman Catholic
  • Society of Friends/Quaker
  • United Presbyterian Church of Scotland
  • Unitarians
  • Wesleyan Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist Association

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241357.


Genealogy From Periodicals

Heaviside, George Coulson. An F.R.S. from Morley. History and family names of John Heaviside born 1607, and Ann nee Porter, his wife married 11 November 1643. Descendants move about Billingham, Stockton on Tees, Wolviston, Marylebone, London. with some in USA, Canada, and Australia. Surnames, Story, Wilson, Moore, Laws, Taylor, Winlow, Smith and West, dated 1607-1955. Article in Northumberland & Durham Family History Society Journal. vol. 35,no.1.page 21-24. Family History Library Reference, 942.8 B2jo v.35 no.1 (spring 2010

Poor Law Unions

Stockton Poor Law Union, Durham

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Stockton upon Tees on GENUKI

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 209-215. Date accessed: 27 March 2011.