Stoke Bliss, Herefordshire Genealogy
Guide to Stoke Bliss, Herefordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Stoke Bliss, Herefordshire|
|Poor Law Union||Tenbury|
|Parish registers: 1571|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1660|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Hereford (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Herefordshire Record Office|
STOKE-BLISS, is a parish, in the union of Tenbury, partly in the Upper division of the hundred of Doddingtree, Worcester and W. divisions of the county of Worcester. Butchiefly in the hundred of Broxash, and the county of Hereford, 6 miles (S. E.) from Tenbury. It contains the chapelry of Little Kyre, in the Stoke-Bliss township. The parish is situated on the road from Tenbury to Bromyard. The church is in the early English style. 
Stokes Bliss is an ancient parish partly in Herefordshire and partly in Worcestershire.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464205.
FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through the FHC Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Herefordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 215-217. Accessed and adapted 24 April, 2013.
Worcester Branch of the Birmingham and Midland Society for Genealogy and Heraldry
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.