Stoke Bliss, Worcestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Stoke Bliss, Worcestershire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Worcestershire Gotoarrow.png Worcestershire Parishes

Guide to Stoke Bliss, Worcestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Stoke Bliss, Worcestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Broxash; Doddingtree
County Worcestershire
Poor Law Union Tenbury
Registration District Tenbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1571
Bishop's Transcripts: 1660
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Frome
Diocese Hereford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Hereford (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Worcestershire Record Office

Parish History

STOKE-BLISS, a parish, in the union of Tenbury, partly in the Upper division of the hundred of Doddingtree, Worcester and W. divisions of the county of Worcester, but chiefly in the hundred of Broxash, county of Hereford, 6 miles (S. E.) from Tenbury; with the chapelry of Little Kyre. The parish is situated on the road from Tenbury to Bromyard.[1]

Additional information:

Part of this parish is in Herefordshire. See also Stoke Bliss, Herefordshire.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464205.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hereford Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 16 October 2013.
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.