Stoke Damerel, Devon Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Stoke Damerel, Devon)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Devon Gotoarrow.pngDevon Parishes

Guide to Stoke Damerel, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Stoke Damerel, Devon
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Devonport Borough
County Devon
Poor Law Union Stoke Damerel Incorporation
Registration District Stoke Damerel
Records begin
Parish registers: 1595
Bishop's Transcripts: 1614
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Plympton
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Totnes
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

Parish History

STOKE-DAMERALL, a parish, in the hundred of Roborough, Roborough and S. divisions of Devon; adjoining the borough of Plymouth. This parish, which includes Devonport and Morice-Town, is one of the most extensive in the county. A second church has been erected, dedicated to St. Michael.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Stoke Damerel, Devon Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[3]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
Stoke Damerel, Devon Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images




IGI 1595-1801

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Baptist
  • Calvinist
  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints,
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Moravian/United Brethren
  • Particular Baptist
  • Protestant Dissenters
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241334.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Stoke Damerel on GENUKI


  1. Lewis,Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 217-220. Date accessed: 04 November 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Devon Parish Marriages,' findmypast, accessed 8 January 2014.
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Devon, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 13 February 2014.