Stoke Gabriel, Devon Genealogy
Guide to Stoke Gabriel, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Stoke Gabriel, Devon|
|Poor Law Union||Totnes|
|Parish registers: 1539|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1611|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of the Bishop of Exeter (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Devon Record Office|
STOKE-GABRIEL (St. Gabriel), a parish, in the union of Totnes, hundred of Haytor, Paignton and S. divisions of Devon, 4 miles (S. E. by E.) from Totnes. There is a place of worship for Baptists. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Stoke Gabriel, Devon Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|FREG = FreeReg.org.uk|
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|Stoke Gabriel, Devon Genealogy Online Parish Records|
- Wesleyan Methodist
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241314.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Stoke Gabriel on GENUKI
- Lewis,Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 217-220. Date accessed: 04 November 2013.
- Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
- Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Devon, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 13 February 2014.