Stoke Golding, Leicestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png LeicestershireGotoarrow.png Leicestershire Parishes

Guide to Stoke Golding, Leicestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Stoke Golding, Leicestershire
St Margaret Stoke Golding Leicestershire.jpg
St Margaret Stoke Golding, Leicestershire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Sparkenhoe
County Leicestershire
Poor Law Union Hinckley
Registration District Hinckley
Records begin
Parish registers: 1656; For more records see Hinckley
Bishop's Transcripts: 1562
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Sparkenhoe
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Leicester
Location of Archive
Leicestershire Record Office

Parish History

STOKE-GOLDING, a chapelry, in the parish of Hinckley, hundred of Sparkenhoe, S. division of the county of Leicester, 2¾ miles (N. W.) from Hinckley. [1]

In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Stoke Golding like this:

STOKE-GOLDING, a chapelry in Hinckley parish, Leicester; on the Ashby-de-la-Zouch canal, 3¼ miles N W of Hinckley r. station.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Stoke Golding, Leicestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PC = Parish Chest - (£). Registers delivered by email.[2]
Stoke Golding, Leicestershire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PC 1561-1912
1561-1912
1561-1912

Deposited records are found at the Leicester and Rutland Record Office

Contact: The Record Office
Telephone: 0116 2571080
Fax: 0116 2571120
E-mail: recordoffice@leics.gov.uk

Diocese of Leicester: Stoke Golding Bap 1656 - 1997 Marr 1656 – 1998 (Banns to1977) Bur 1656 - 1932

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438748.


Poor Law Unions

Hinckley Poor Law Union, Leicestershire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Leicestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 217-220. Date accessed: 17 September 2012.
  2. 'Leicestershire Parish Registers', Parish Chest, accessed 27 January 2014.