Stoke Hammond, Buckinghamshire Genealogy
Guide to Stoke Hammond, Buckinghamshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Stoke Hammond, Buckinghamshire|
|Poor Law Union||Leighton Buzzard|
|Registration District||Leighton Buzzard|
|Parish registers: 1534|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1575|
|Diocese||Pre-1845 - Lincoln; Post-1844 - Oxford|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Buckingham|
|Location of Archive|
|Buckinghamshire Record Office|
STOKE-HAMMOND, a parish, with a village, in the district of Leighton-Buzzard and county of Buckingham; on the Northwestern railway and the Grand Junction canal, 2¾ miles S by E of Bletchley r. station. There are Baptist and Wesleyan chapels.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
- Wesleyan Methodist
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241218.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Buckinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Stoke Hammond on GENUKI
- John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales 1870-72. Date accessed and adapted 9 July 2013.