Stondon Massey, Essex Genealogy
Guide to Stondon Massey, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Stondon Massey, Essex|
St peter& paul Stondon Massey Essex
|Poor Law Union||Ongar|
|Parish registers: 1708|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1630|
|Diocese||Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Essex|
|Location of Archive|
|Essex Record Office|
Stondon-Massey is also known as Standon Massey, it is a parish in Ongar district, Essex; 2 miles SE of Ongar railway station. The post town is, Brentwood.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Stondon Massey, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)|
|Stondon Massey, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241374.
Poor Law Unions
The parish book for Stondon Massey covers the period 1711-1922 Detailed overseers' account books also survive for 1741-1801 and 1821-42. In 1836 the parish became a member of the Ongar Poor Law Union. 
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Stondon Massey on GENUKI
Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)
- John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Adapted 17 May 2013.
- Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 4 September 2014.
- From: 'Stondon Massey: Parish government and poor relief', A History of the County of Essex: Volume 4: Ongar Hundred (1956), pp. 247-248. British History Date accessed: 07 February 2011.