Stone County, Missouri Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Stone County, Missouri)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png Missouri Gotoarrow.png Stone County

Guide to Stone County, Missouri ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}


Stone County, Missouri
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Missouri
Location of Missouri in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 10, 1851
County Seat Galena
Courthouse
MissouriStoneCourthouse.jpg
Address Stone County Courthouse
PO Box 45
Galena, MO 65656
Phone: 417.357.6127
Stone County Website


County Information

Stone County, Missouri Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1851 1860 1854 1848

County Courthouse


County Clerk has marriage and land records from 1851, probate and court records from 1800s and military discharge records from 1918.[2]

History

Parent County

1851 Stone County was created 10 February 1851 from Taney County. County seat: Galena [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Barry  • Carroll County, Arkansas  • Christian  • Lawrence  • Taney

Taney CountyDouglas CountyWright CountyChristian CountyOzark CountyWebster CountyGreene CountyJasper CountyBaxter CountyNewton CountyMcDonald CountyCarroll CountyBarry CountyMarion CountyLawrence CountyBenton CountyBoone CountyStone CountyWashington CountyMadison CountyNewton CountySearcy CountyMOStone.JPG

Resources

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
MOGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
MOGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
MOGravestones
EPodunk
Billion Graves
See Missouri Cemeteries for more information.

Census

For tips on accessing Stone County, Missouri Genealogy census records online, see: Missouri Census.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Stone County, Missouri Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

  • Stone County Historical Society put together a wonderful book called "History of Stone County Missouri" published in 1989. There are 3 volumes. The Family History Library has a copy of the first one. The call number is 977.8794H2h. Volume 2 has been sent to preservation and Vol 3 is currently being digitized. Vol 1 has a section on cemeteries, where to find them and a little about them. Also churches, newspapers, stories and legends, and a large section with almost 400 family histories.
  • "Stone County booklet: a guide to prosperity and happiness: for free distribution at the Missouri State Fair, August 20th to 27th 1927". [Missouri] : News-Oracle, Galena Mo. [and] Crane Chronicle, Crane, Mo., 1927.

Maps

Mostone.jpg

Military

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments

Service men in Stone County, Missouri served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Stone County, Missouri:
- 15th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company H
- 72nd Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company K
- 7th Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company H

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Stone County, Missouri Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate

Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.

Births
Marriages
Deaths

Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Web Sites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
Missouri Digital Heritage Free digital images of many types of records from institutions across the State
MOGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Stone County, Missouri Genealogy
RootsWeb resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS Free family history resources and government records
Missouri Genealogy Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Stone County, Missouri Genealogy
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library Major genealogy resource library, located in Indiana. On home page enter "Stone Missouri" and search catalog.
Missouri State Archives Library catalog; from this page you must search "Stone County"
See also local libraries and Missouri Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Stone County, Missouri Genealogy
Google+ Missouri Genealogy Network Community
Facebook list of groups from "Missouri Genealogy" search

References

  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 422-438. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Stone County, Missouri. Page 406 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. 4.0 4.1 4.2 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/f/f4/Igimissourir.pdf.