Stony Stratford, Buckinghamshire Genealogy
Guide to Stony Stratford, Buckinghamshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Stony Stratford, Buckinghamshire|
|Poor Law Union||Potterspury|
|Parish registers: 1653; Separate registers exist for Stony Stratford St Mary Magdalen beginning 1619|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1575; Separate records exist for Stony Stratford St Mary Magdalen beginning 1575|
|Diocese||Pre-1837 - Lincoln; Post-1836 - Oxford|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Buckingham|
|Location of Archive|
|Buckinghamshire Record Office|
STRATFORD (Stony), a small town and a parish in the district of Potterspury and county of Buckingham.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
The church of Saint Giles was built in the late 15th century, and was entirely rebuilt in 1776 except for the original chapel. The parish registers begin in 1738.British History Online
Bishop's Transcripts for Saint Giles 1575-1781 are availble on microfilm 1999473 itmes 4-5
St. Giles church still stands. Parish Registers and more Bishop's Transcripts may exist somewhere to cover the years after 1781. The church of Saint Mary Magdalene is dated to have been built about 1450. It was destroyed by fire in 1742 with only the tower and graveyard still remaining. British History Online
"During the English Civil War in the 1640's, St.Marys Church on the Eastside (Wolverton) was the non-conformist church, and was Cromwellian (Roundhead). St. Giles Church on the Westside (Calverton) was the established church, and was Parliamentarian (Cavalier).
Due to having two churches, a great divide occurred between the two churches, and the two parishes, and rivalry and suspicion was evident. In 1689 religious persecutions had ceased with the introduction of the Toleration Act." - Milton Keynes Heritage Association
Bishop's Transcripts for St. Mary Magdalene's Church 1575-1782 are available on mircofilm 1999474 items 1-3
FamilySearch also has records for an independant church 1822-1837 on microfilms 566021 item 2 and 583981 item 1
There are also two computer printouts for the independant church, both extracted from microfilm 566021, one available on microfilm 1037052 item 13, and the other on microfiche 6909261 both covering years 1822-1837.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Buckinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Stony Stratford on GENUKI
- John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales 1870-2 Date accessed and adapted 11 July 2013.