Storey County, Nevada Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Storey County, Nevada)
Jump to: navigation, search

United StatesGotoarrow.png Nevada Gotoarrow.png Storey County

Guide to Storey County, Nevada ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


County Information

Description

County Courthouse

Storey County Courthouse
PO Box D
Virginia City, NV 89440-0139
Phone: 755.847.0969
Storey County Website

County Recorder has birth, marriage, and death records from 1875 and land records.
County Clerk has divorce and court records from 1861 and probate records from 1875. [1]

Storey County, Nevada Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1887*
1862*
1887*
1861
1859
1886
* For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

  • Parent County: created 25 November 1861 as an original county
  • County Seat: Virginia City [2]

Populated Places

  • Clark
  • Divide


{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Virginia City
Organized: November 25, 1861
Parent County(s): Original county[2]
Neighboring Counties
Lyon  • Washoe  • Carson City (Independent City
See County Maps
Courthouse
NevadaStoreyCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Nv-storey.png
Adoption
This page is available for adoption


History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Storey County, Nevada online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Nevada Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

Church Records

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Nevada Church Records.

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

The county recorder's office keeps land records once the land was transferred to private ownership. Abstracts and indexes for these records are generally available at the county courthouse.

In the FamilySearch Catalog, land records for Nevada are listed in the Place Search under: NEVADA, Storey – LAND AND PROPERTY

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Storey County, Nevada Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Nevada Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Nvstorey.jpg

Migration

Early migration routes to and from Storey County, Nevada Genealogy for emigrant settlers included:

Military Records

Civil War

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

  • NewspaperArchive.com ($) has a collection of digitized Reno newspapers going back to 1870. This database is sometimes free at libraries.

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Storey County, Nevada Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Probate records may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. They may include the decedent’s date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, etc. See Nevada Probate Records for additional information.

School Records

Tax Records

Nevada tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records. Most tax records can be obtained from the county treasurer or assessor. For more information, see the wiki page Nevada Taxation. The Family History Library does not have copies of Nevada tax records (as of June 2013).

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most Nevada original records can be purchased from the Nevada Department of Health and Human Services or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Nevada Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.

Birth

Marriage

Over 3,980 marriages from 24 Feb 1862 to 12 Sep 1936 are listed in the Western States Marriage Index.

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

  • Storey County Public Library
    95 South R ST
    Virginia City, NV 89440
    775-847-0956

Museums

Societies

Websites

  • USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
  • FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Storey County, Oregon page 443, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. 2.0 2.1 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. National Park Service, "California Trail" (map) in California National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/cali/planyourvisit/upload/CALImap1-web.pdf (accessed 2 August 2011).
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "First Transcontinental Railroad" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/First_Transcontinental_Railroad (accessed 2 August 2011).
  5. Wikipedia contributors, "Central Overland Route" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Central_Overland_Route (accessed 4 August 2011).