Stow cum Quy, Cambridgeshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England  Gotoarrow.png  CambridgeshireGotoarrow.png  Cambridgeshire Parishes

Guide to Stow cum Quy, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Stow cum Quy, Cambridgeshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Staine
County Cambridgeshire
Poor Law Union Chesterton
Registration District Chesterton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1539
Bishop's Transcripts: 1599
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Camps
Diocese Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Ely (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cambridgeshire Record Office

Parish History

Stow-Cum-Quy, is a parish in Chesterton district, Cambridgeshire; 2¾ miles SE of Waterbeach railway station, and 5 miles ENE of Cambridge. It has a post-office by the name of Quy, under Cambridge. There is a Wesleyan chapel here.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Stow cum Quy, Cambridgeshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS BTs = FamilySearch Bishop's Transcripts - free[2]
Stow cum Quy, Cambridgeshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS BTs
1599-1863 1599-1848
1599-1863

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241225.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Stow cum Quy on GENUKI

References

  1. 1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, publ. London and Edinburgh: 1870 See at: http://www.visionofbritain.org.uk/place/6164
  2. FamilySearch Catalog. Accessed 12 April 2016.