Stranton, Durham Genealogy
Guide to Stranton, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Stockton|
|Parish registers: 1580|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1762|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Durham Record Office|
STRANTON (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Stockton, N. division of Stockton ward, S. division of the county of Durham; The Wesleyans have a place of worship.
Additional information: All Saints Stranton is an ancient parish including Brierton and Seaton Carew. In 1841 Seaton Carew formed a chapelry and in 1859 Christ Church West Hartlepool was formed within the Stranton parish.
The church is Norman but has had several alterations and additions with inscribed dates of 1664 and 1699. In 1890 restoration of the interior was carried out. As West Hartlepool grew in population the number of churches grew and Stranton's role in the area diminished.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Durham University Library Archives and Special Collections DDR/EA/PBT/2/245 1762-1844 Parish Register transcripts are available to search free online at FamilySearch Historical Records.
The dates of the post-1760 transcripts have been noted in detail and sometimes only cover years. For most parishes in the collection there are gaps in the sequence of transcripts. It is advisable to consult the original parish registers for these years and events.
The Parish Registers for the period 1580-1995 are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL (EP/Str).
The following records for churches in the ancient parish of Stranton are also available at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL:-
- West Hartlepool, Christ Church 1854-1973 (EP/Ha.CC).
- West Hartlepool, St. Aidan 1890-1995 (EP/Ha.SA).
- West Hartlepool, St. James 1870-1956 (EP/Ha.SJ).
- West Hartlepool, St. Matthew 1902-1945
- West Hartlepool, St. Nicholas 1929-1933
- West Hartlepool, St. Oswald 1892-1977 (EP/Ha.SO).
FamilySearch Historical Records includes England, Durham Diocese, Marriage Bonds and Allegations (FamilySearch Historical Records)
Non Conformist Churches
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241356.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Stranton on GENUKI
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 10 December 2013.