Stratton St Margaret, Wiltshire Genealogy
Guide to Stratton St Margaret, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Stratton St Margaret, Wiltshire|
|Hundred||Highworth, Cricklade and Staple|
|Poor Law Union||Highworth and Swindon|
|Parish registers: 1608|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1607|
|Diocese||Gloucester and Bristol|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of the Perpetual Vicar of Corsham|
|Location of Archive|
|Wiltshire Record Office|
STRATTON (St. Margaret), a parish, in the union of Highworth and Swindon, hundred of Highworth, Cricklade, and Staple, Swindon and N. divisions of Wiltshire, 2½ miles (N. E. by N.) from Swindon; containing, with the tything of Upper Stratton from: 'Stratton - Stratton, West'. The village is situated on the Roman road from Marlborough downs to Cheltenham, and the Wiltshire and Berks canal and the Great Western railway pass through the parish. The Baptists, Independents, and Primitive Methodists each have a place of worship.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Stratton St Margaret, Wiltshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.|
|Stratton St Margaret, Wiltshire Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464197.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Stratton St. Margaret - OPC
Parish Directory, Photos, Research, and more
- Samuel A. Lewis A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 244-246. Date accessed: 16 October 2013.
- 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.