Streatham Christ Church, Surrey Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Surrey
Surrey Parishes
Streatham Christ Church


Guide to Streatham Christ Church, Surrey ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Streatham Christ Church, Surrey
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Brixton
County Surrey
Poor Law Union Wandsworth and Clapham
Registration District Wandsworth
Records begin
Parish registers: 1844
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese Pre-1846 - Winchester; Post-1845 - London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1846 - Court of the Archdeaconry of Surrey; Post-1845 - Court of the Bishop of London (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Surrey Record Office

Parish History

Streatham, a village, a parish, and a sub-district, in Wandsworth district, 6½ miles SSW of St. Pauls, London. A chapel of ease is under care of the rector; and five other churches, in Christchurch-Road, Grove-Road, Streatham-Common, Balham, and Upper Tooting, are separate charges. There are chapels for Wesleyans and Independents.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474659.



The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.


Poor Law Unions

Wandsworth and Clapham Poor Law Union,Surrey

Probate records

Surrey will abstracts (1470-1858) are available online at British Origins (£).[2]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Surrey Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales 1870-72. Adapted. Date accessed: 18 February 2014.
  2. 'About Surrey and South London Will Abstracts 1470-1858,' Origins.net, accessed 27 June 2012.