Strelley, Nottinghamshire Genealogy
Guide to Strelley, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
STRELLEY (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Basford, S. division of the Wapentake of Broxtow, N. division of the county of Nottingham, 4½ miles (W. N. W.) from Nottingham.
Strelley All Saints is an Ancient parish in the Broxtowe District of Nottinghamshire.
The Parish Church of All Saints has been designated as a Grade I listed building British listed building
See also Strelley Wikipedia
Strelley, a parish (Bishop's transcripts from 1626; see FamilySearch Catalog) in Basford District, Notts.,Lincoln
[See also, Parish of Bilborough with Strelley, Nottinghamshire which was annexed with Strelley Parish in 1838.]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Strelley, Nottinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|STRELLEY PARISH Online Records|
Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1654-1903 Marriages 1655-1899 Burials 1654-1901 Bishop's Transcripts 1626-1848
Nottinghamshire County Council
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online
Strelley Monumental Inscriptions. An alphabetical listing by surname, given name, date of death, and sometimes showing relationship, and age - transcription of the Strelley Gravestones, dated from 1736, both inside and outside the Church. Transcription in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 19, pages 19-20, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 428907.
Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.
An Account of Inhabitants in the parish of Strelley, December 14th, 1818. Alist of the inhabitants giving forename, surname, and some ages of the children. Original at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref DD.E 62/15, transcription in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 105, pages 36-38, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 09 December 2013.
- 'Nottinghamshire baptisms 1538-1980,' 'Nottinghamshire marriages 1528-1929,' 'Nottinghamshire burials 1539-1905,' findmypast, accessed 12 January 2015.
- Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.