Stretton Magna, Leicestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png LeicestershireGotoarrow.pngLeicestershire Parishes

Guide to Stretton Magna', Leicestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy:' parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Stretton Magna, Leicestershire
Former St Giles Great Stretton Leicestershire.jpg
Former St Giles Great Stretton, Leicestershire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Gartree
County Leicestershire
Poor Law Union Billesdon
Registration District Billesdon
Records begin
Parish registers: 1585; For more records see Glen Magna
Bishop's Transcripts: 1604
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Gartree
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Leicester
Location of Archive
Leicestershire Record Office

Parish History

STRETTON MAGNA, a chapelry, in the parish of Glen Magna, union of Billesdon, hundred of Gartree, S. division of the county of Leicester, 5½ miles(S. E. by E.) from Leicester. [1]

The lost ancient village of Stretton Magna contains the Ancient Parish church of St Giles which still stands derelict in fields near the modern village of Great Stretton.

The lost village is included in land adjacent to the site of the abandoned World War II airfield known as RAF Leicester East and Stoughton aerodrome then Leicester Airport near Stoughton village.

The proposal to develop the area into an eco town (with the working title of Pennbury) was not included in the announcements of permitted development and is strongly opposed locally.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Stretton Magna, Leicestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PC = Parish Chest - (£). Registers delivered by email.[2]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[3]
STRETTON MAGNA PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PC 1587-1910
1587-1910
1587-1910
PRTS
1602-1822

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438742.


Poor Law Unions

Billesdon Poor Law Union, Leicestershire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Leicestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 246-250. Date accessed: 17 September 2012.
  2. 'Leicestershire Parish Registers', Parish Chest, accessed 27 January 2014.
  3. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 27 September 2013.