Stroud, Gloucestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Stroud, Gloucestershire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England  Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Parishes

Guide to Stroud, Gloucestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Stroud, Gloucestershire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bisley
County Gloucestershire
Poor Law Union Stroud
Registration District Stroud
Records begin
Parish registers: 1624
Bishop's Transcripts: 1578
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Stonehouse
Diocese Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Gloucester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Gloucestershire Record Office

Parish History

STROUD, or Stroudwater (St. Lawrence), a newly-enfranchised borough, a market-town, a parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Bisley, E.division of the county of Gloucester, 10 miles (S. by E.) from Gloucester, and 102 (W. by N.) from London;containing Upper and Lower Lyppiatt, Pakenhill, and Steanbridge. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Stroud St Lawrence parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials (Ancestry) - (£)[2][3][4][5]
Stroud St Lawrence Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1578-1812 1578-1812 1578-1753 1578-1753 1578-1812 1578-1812
AC 1813-1913 1813-1913 1754-1938 1754-1938 1813-1903 1813-1903

Stroud Holy Trinity parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Stroud Holy Trinity Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1879-1913 1879-1913 1869-1938 1869-1938 1879-1920 1879-1920

Lower Cam parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Lower Cam Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1888-1913 1888-1913 1888-1938 1888-1938 1888-1978 1888-1978

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288762.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 250-252. Date accessed: 04 February 2013.
  2. 'Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1813,' Ancestry, accessed 17 June 2016.
  3. 'Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1913,' Ancestry, accessed 22 June 2016.
  4. 'Gloucestershire, England, Marriages, 1754-1938,' Ancestry, accessed 21 June 2016.
  5. 'Gloucestershire, England, Burials, 1813-1988,' Ancestry, accessed 26 June 2016.