Sudbury, Derbyshire Genealogy
Guide to Sudbury, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Sudbury All Saints Derbyshire
|Poor Law Union||Uttoxeter|
|Parish registers: 1673|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1634|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Derbyshire Record Office|
Sudbury All Saints is an Ancient parish in Derbyshire.
SUDBURY (All Saints), an ancient parish, in the union of Uttoxeter, hundred of Appletree, S. division of the county of Derby, 5 miles (E. by S.) from Uttoxeter.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Sudbury parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:
|FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|Sudbury All Saints (1673) Parish Online Records|
|FS PR's|| 1900-1912
Derbyshire Record Office reference D1251 has deposited registers Bap 1673-1968 Mar 1673-2001 Burials 1673-1900 Banns 1824-1972
Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1634-1884 Mar 1634-1837 Burials 1634-1884
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241288.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Sudbury on GENUKI
- Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 256-261. Date accessed: 20 May 2013.