Sudbury All Saints, Suffolk Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Sudbury All Saints, Suffolk)
Jump to: navigation, search

EnglandGotoarrow.png Suffolk Gotoarrow.pngSudbury BoroughGotoarrow.png Suffolk Parishes Gotoarrow.png Sudbury All Saints

Parish History

"SUDBURY, a parish, market town, and municipal borough, chiefly in the hundred of Babergh, county Suffolk, but including the parish of Ballingdon-cum-Brundon, county Essex, 20 miles S.W. of Ipswich, and 7 S.E. of Clare. The Reform bounds include the old borough, containing the parishes of All Saints, St. Gregory, and St. Peter, with the extra-parochial district of St. Bartholomew's, and the [former] parish of Ballingdon, in Essex. Ballingdon was formerly a parish, in the union of Sudbury, hundred of Hinckford, N. division of Essex, ½ a mile(S. W. by W.) from Sudbury. After the decay of the parochial church, the village of Ballingdon, which had been previously only a chapelry in the parish of Brundon, became the head of the parish. The inhabitants resort to the church of All Saints, Sudbury, and contribute towards the church-rate of that parish.[1]

Sudbury is also the capital of the archdeaconry and deanery to which it gives name in the diocese of Norwich. The livings are, All Saints, a vicarage* with that ofBallingdon-cum-Brundon annexed; and the perpetual curacy of St. Gregory, with that of St. Peter annexed. The churches are of considerable antiquity. St. Gregory's, the most ancient, was collegiate until Henry VIII. sold its possessions. St. Bartholomew's was the site of a Benedictine priory. The site latterly became the property of Sir J. Marriott, by whose order the priory-buildings were taken down in 1779.[2]


Refer to the works listed in Suffolk Gazetteers or England Gazetteers for source material.

Resources

Refer to Sudbury and Suffolk in the FamilySearch Catalog for available records.

Civil Registration

Sudbury is in Sudbury district.  To search an index of Sudbury district records go to FreeBMD. The Suffolk Civil Registration article tells more about these records.

Church records

Sudbury All Saints, Suffolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

1813 = Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) (findmypast) - (£)[3]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[4]
FMP = findmypast - (£)[5]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[6]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[7]
Sudbury All Saints, Suffolk Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
1813 1813-1837
BOYD
1564-1754

FMP 1754-1901
IGI 1564-1876 1564-1876
NBI

1567-1860

Parish Registers began in the 1500's. They can be viewed at the Suffolk Record Office. There are Bishop Transcripts and Parish Registers that have been filmed for most parishes in the County. See the Suffolk Church Records article for further details. 

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474647.


Probate records

Prior to 1858 the primary court that had jurisdiction over Sudbury was the Archdeaconry of Sudbury; however, a person’s will or administration may have been probated in nearby courts or even in London. After 1858 it was in Ipswich District; Refer to the Suffolk Probate Records article for further details.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.<br>

Websites

Resources

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 132-136. Adapted. Date accessed: 28 March 2013.
  2. Hamilton, N.E.S.A., The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland (1868). Adapted. Accessed: 28 March , 2013.
  3. 'Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 9 December 2013.
  4. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  5. 'Suffolk Baptism Index 1538-1911', Find My Past, accessed 5 January 2016. Described ambiguously as 'Sudbury.'
  6. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Suffolk, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 10 December 2013.
  7. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 4 December 2013.