Sudbury St Gregory, Suffolk Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Sudbury St Gregory, Suffolk)
Jump to: navigation, search
England  Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk   Gotoarrow.png  Sudbury Borough  Gotoarrow.pngSuffolk Parishes  Gotoarrow.png  Sudbury St Gregory
Sudbury St Gregory, Suffolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Sudbury Borough
County Suffolk
Poor Law Union Sudbury
Registration District Sudbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653; For more records see Sudbury St Gregory
Bishop's Transcripts: 1564
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Sudbury
Diocese Pre-1837 - Norwich; Post-1836 - Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Sudbury
Location of Archive
Suffolk Record Office

Parish History

"SUDBURY, a parish, market town, and municipal borough, chiefly in the hundred of Babergh, county Suffolk, but including the parish of Ballingdon-cum-Brundon, county Essex, 20 miles S.W. of Ipswich, and 7 S.E. of Clare. The Reform bounds include the old borough, containing the parishes of All Saints, St. Gregory, and St. Peter, with the extra-parochial district of St. Bartholomew's, and the [former] parish of Ballingdon, in Essex. Ballingdon was formerly a parish, in the union of Sudbury, hundred of Hinckford, N. division of Essex, ½ a mile(S. W. by W.) from Sudbury. After the decay of the parochial church, the village of Ballingdon, which had been previously only a chapelry in the parish of Brundon, became the head of the parish. The inhabitants resort to the church of All Saints, Sudbury, and contribute towards the church-rate of that parish.[1]

Refer to the works listed in Suffolk Gazetteers or England Gazetteers for source material.

Resources

If you live in Suffolk you will have access to a variety of resources at local archives and libraries.  For those who live further afield, one can access microfilm and online records at LDS Family History Centres.  Refer to the parish and Suffolk in the FamilySearch Catalogue for available records.

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Sudbury St Gregory, Suffolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

1813 = Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) (findmypast) - (£)[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
FMP = findmypast - (£)[4]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[5]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[6]
Sudbury St Gregory, Suffolk Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
1813 1813-1837
BOYD
1653-1754

FMP 1754-1901
IGI 1653-1872 1653-1840
NBI

1750-1857
Parish Registers began in the 1500's. They can be viewed at the Suffolk Record Office. There are Bishop Transcripts and Parish Registers that have been filmed for most parishes in the County. See the Suffolk Church Records article for further details.

Census records

Refer to the Suffolk Census wiki article for general details about the census.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Suffolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 132-136. Adapted. Date accessed: 28 March 2013.
  2. 'Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 9 December 2013.
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. 'Suffolk Baptism Index 1538-1911', Find My Past, accessed 5 January 2016. Described ambiguously as 'Sudbury.'
  5. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Suffolk, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 10 December 2013.
  6. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 4 December 2013.