Sullington, Sussex Genealogy
Guide to Sullington, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Thakeham|
|Parish registers: 1555|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1590|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
SULLINGTON (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Thakeham, hundred of East Easwrith, rape of Bramber, W. division of Sussex, 5½ miles (W. by N.) from Steyning. The church is chiefly in the early English style, and contains several ancient monuments, on one of which is the mutilated effigy of a knight.
The history of the church Sullington St Mary
The parish church of St Mary Sullington has been designated a grade I listed building British listed building
See also Sullington Wikipedia
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
From 1837 this parish was in the Thakeham Registration district until 1935 when that district was abolished in service reorganisation
Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex
Centralised Certificates Office
West Sussex Record Office
Phone: 01243 642122
Sullington, Sussex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)|
|Sullington, Sussex Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Sullington
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474673.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 256-261. Date Accessed: 4 October 2013
- Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county, Origins.net (Wayback Machine), accessed 30 December 2013.
- 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 22 December 2013.