Summit County, Ohio Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Summit County, Ohio)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States go to Ohio go toSummit County

Guide to Summit County, Ohio ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}Coordinates: 41.13°0′N 81.53°0′W / 41.13°N 81.53°W / 41.13; -81.53

Summit County, Ohio
Map
Map of Ohio highlighting Summit County
Location in the state of Ohio
Map of the U.S. highlighting Ohio
Location of Ohio in the U.S.
Courthouse
Summit County, Ohio Courthouse.jpg
Address Summit County Courthouse
209 S High St.
Akron, Ohio 44308
Summit County Website


Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Tax
Land
Probate
1866
1840
1870

1840
1839
*For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries
  • Parent Counties: Formed from Medina, Portage, and Stark Counties in 1840.
  • County Seat: Akron
     



Neighboring Counties

Cuyahoga County  • Geauga County  • Portage County  • Stark County  • Wayne County  • Medina County


Summit CountyHolmes CountyStark CountyTuscarawas CountyCarroll CountyMahoning CountyAshtabula CountyGeauga CountyCuyahoga CountyLorain CountyWayne CountyMedina CountyHolmes CountyAshland CountyPortage CountyLake CountyTrumbull CountyColumbiana CountyOHSummit.JPG


Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Ohio county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Ohio County Boundary Maps" (1788-1940) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Resources

Bible Records

Biography

Business Records and Commerce

Cemeteries

A wiki article describing an online collection is found at:
Ohio, Summit County, Coroner Inquests, Hospital and Cemetery Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)


Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.

Online Grave Transcripts Published Grave Transcripts County Cemetery Directories

Findagrave.com

Family History Library

Findagrave.com

Interment.net

WorldCat

Names in Stone

USGenWeb

Billion Graves

Billion Graves

Epodunk

Ohio Gravestones

Names in Stone

See Ohio Cemeteries for more information.

Census and Directories

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Ohio denominations, view the Ohio Church Records wiki page.


Finding Church Records at Other Repositories

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Summit County, Ohio Church Records in online catalogs like:

Court Records

  • The Records Project, Summit County Public Record Information Online
  • Summit County, Ohio Free Public Records Directory
  • Many court records for Summit County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see [[Many court records for Summit County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
  • Many guardianship records for Summit County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Gazetteers

Genealogy

Summit County Ohio has a great chapter of the Ohio Genealogical Society

History

Local histories are available for Summit County, Ohio Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Ohio Local Histories.

Local Histories

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Ohio Land and Property for additional information about early Ohio land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Finding More Land Records

Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Summit County, Ohio Genealogy Land and Property Records in online catalogs like:



Maps

Ohsummit.jpg

Military

Revolutionary War

Civil War

World War I

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship

  • The Summit County Clerk of Courts has placed online an index and actual images of 1850 - 1991 Naturalization Records
  • Many naturalization and citizenship records for Summit County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.

Newspapers

Summit County, Ohio Genealogy newspapers may contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.

To access newspapers, contact public libraries, Ohio Genealogical Society chapters, college or university libraries, the Library of Congress, Google News, or the Ohio Historical Society. The Ohio Genealogical Society Obituary Database is another source of newspaper information.

For more Ohio newspaper information see the Newspaper Guides on the wiki page Ohio Newspapers. Online Newspapers
Online Newspaper Abstracts
Newspaper Extracts and Abstracts in Book Form

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate

Probate records created after 1852 are held by the Summit County, Ohio Genealogy Probate Court. From 1797 or the creation of the county, probate records were held by the Court of Common Pleas. Most counties transferred all records to the Probate Court, but in some circumstances, Court of Common Pleas records should be searched for records prior to 1852. Most records are housed at the Summit County, Ohio Genealogy Courthouse. Some records are on microfilm at the Ohio Genealogical Society and the Family History Library. For more complete information about the location of county probate records see:

See the wiki page Ohio Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (1867-1908 only).


Online Probate Records

Finding More Probate Records

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Summit County, Ohio Genealogy Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Public Records

Repositories

Courthouse

Summit County Courthouse
53 University Avenue
Akron, OH 44301
Phone: 330.643.2900

County Recorder has land records from 1840
Probate Court has birth, marriage, death and
probate records[2]

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.


For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the FHC directory. Put your town name in the top search box.

Libraries
Museums
Societies
Connecticut Western Reserve in northeast Ohio.png
The Connecticut Western Reserve  was a part of northeast Ohio originally intended for settlement by Revolutionary War refugees from Connecticut.[3] The former Connecticut Western Reserve  lands were in the modern counties of Ashtabula, Cuyahoga, Erie, Geauga, Huron, Lake, Lorain, Medina, Portage, and Trumbull fully, but also in parts of Ashland, Mahoning, Ottawa, Summit, and Wayne counties in Ohio.

The Research Library at the Western Reserve Historical Society History Center  is the premier repository for Cleveland, Ohio and Connecticut Western Reserve history material. One of the principal strengths is its manuscript collections.[4] The WRHS collection has original land records, genealogies of New England, New York, and Pennsylvania, biographies, histories, and family Bibles.[3]

Other Societies

Schools

Taxation

Ohio tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information see the wiki page Ohio Taxation.

  • Many tax records for Summit County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.

Finding More Tax Records

Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Summit County, Ohio Genealogy Tax Records in online catalogs like:

Vital Records

Birth

Online Birth Indexes and Records

Original Birth Records on Microfilm

Marriage

Online Marriage Indexes and Records

Original Marriage Records on Microfilm

Death

Online Death Indexes and Records

  • Death Records (1938-Current)
  • Ohio Deaths, 1908-1932, 1938-1944, and 1958-2002 $
  • Ohio Deaths, 1908-1953 Free name indexes and images at FamilySearch. Records include such information as birth date of deceased, city, county, and state of death, name of spouse if married, names of parents, maiden name of mother, name of informant, if deceased was single, married, windowed or divorced, occupation of deceased.
  • Many vital records for Summit County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.

Finding More Vital Records

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Summit County, Ohio Genealogy Vital Records in online catalogs like:

Original Death Records on Microfilm

Divorce

Web Sites

Places

Cities

  • Akron
  • Barberton
  • Cuyahoga Falls
  • Fairlawn
  • Green
  • Hudson
  • Macedonia
  • Munroe Falls
  • New Franklin
  • Norton
  • Stow
  • Tallmadge
  • Twinsburg

Townships

  • Bath Township
  • Boston Township
  • Copley Township
  • Coventry Township
  • Northfield Center Township
  • Richfield Township
  • Sagamore Township
  • Springfield Township
  • Twinsburg Township

Historical Townships

  • Franklin Township
  • Green Township
  • Hudson Township
  • Norton Township
  • Northampton Township
  • Portage Township
  • Stow Township

Unincorporated Communities

  • Montrose-Ghent
  • Pigeon Creek
  • Portage Lakes
  • Ghent
  • Hammond’s Corners
  • Montrose

Neighboring Counties

References

  1. Carol Willsey Bell, Ohio Wills and Estates to 1850: An Index (Columbus, Ohio: the author, 1981). FamilySearch Books Online - Free online copy.
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Summit County, Ohio. Page 546 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. 3.0 3.1 William Dollarhide, and Ronald A. Bremer, America's Best Genealogy Resource Centers (Bountiful, UT: Heritage Quest, 1988), 89. At various repositories (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 J54d.
  4. Family History and Genealogical Research in Western Reserve Historical Society (accessed 11 March 2015).