Sumner County, Kansas Genealogy
Guide to Sumner County, Kansas ancestry, family history and genealogy and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.
|Sumner County, Kansas|
Location in the state of Kansas
Location of Kansas in the U.S.
|Founded||February 26, 1867|
|Address|| Sumner County Courthouse|
500 N. Washington Ave.
Wellington, Kansas 67152-4096
- 1 County Information
- 2 County Courthouse
- 3 History
- 4 Places/Localities
- 5 Resources
- 6 Societies and Libraries
- 7 Web Sites
- 8 References
Sumner County, Kansas Record Dates
Sumner County Courthouse
500 N Washington
Wellington, KS 67152
Probate Judge has marriage and probate records.
Clerk District Court has divorce records.
County Clerk has land records. 
The Chisholm Trail entered Kansas south through Caldwell and moved northeastward missing Wellington by 7 miles to the west. The trail that hosted cattle travel from the 1860’s well into the 1870’s was virtually abandoned as settlers staked out homesteads diverting cattle to the West. The Santa Fe Railroad brought the Trail back to life when the railroad came to Caldwell in 1880. 
- Kansas: A Cyclopedia of State History, Embracing Events, Institutions, Industries, Counties, Cities, Towns, Prominent Persons, Etc.. 
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|Kansas Gravestones||WorldCat||Billion Graves|
|See Kansas Cemeteries for more information.|
Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Kansas Church Records.
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Kansas Land and Property for additional information about early Kansas land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.
Local histories are available for Sumner County, Kansas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Kansas Local Histories.
A book, Portrait and biographical album of Sumner County, Kansas containing full page portraits and biographical sketches of prominent and representative citizens of the county, (1885) is available online free from Google Books. Parts I and II contain biographies of the U.S. presidents and Kentucky governors. Part III (starts about p.160) contains biographies of Sumner County residents.
- Plot Maps of Sumner County from the Kansas Historical Society.
- Sumner County was organized after the Civil War began. Please see Butler and Marion counties for Civil War records
- Belle Plaine News - 431 N. Merchant Belle Plaine Ks 67013 620-488-2234
- Caldwell Messenger - 111 S. Main P.O. Box 313 Caldwell Ks 67022 620-845-2320
- Conway Springs Star - Argonia Argosy - 214 W. Spring Conway Springs Ks 620-456-2473
- Mulvane News - 204 W. Main Mulvane Ks 67110 ~ 620-777-4233
- Oxford Register 110 E. Myrtle Oxford Ks 67119 ~ 620 455 3535
- South Haven New Era South Haven Ks
- Wellington Daily News 113 W. Harvey / Wellington, KS 67152 (620) 326-3326
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Sumner County, Kansas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
In most counties in Kansas, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, inventories, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Kansas, Sumner and click Probate records.
Kansas tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Kansas Taxation.
A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Kansas Office of Vital Statistics or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Kansas Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.
- 1818 - 1936 Kansas, Births and Christenings, 1818-1936 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1885 - 1911 Kansas, Births and Christenings Index, 1885-1911 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1885 - 1930 Kansas, Deaths and Burials, 1885-1930 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1885 - 1930 Kansas, Deaths and Burials, Index, 1885-1930 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1811 - 1911 Kansas, Marriages, 1811-1911 at FamilySearch — index
- 1840 - 1935 Kansas, Marriages, 1840-1935 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1855 - 1911 Kansas, County Marriages, 1855-1911 at Ancestry.com — images $
Societies and Libraries
Sumner County Historical and Genealogical Center
208 N Washington Ave
PO Box 402
Wellington, KS 67152
Telephone Number: 785-339-3127
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county.
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Sumner County, Kansas Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 232-245. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Sumner County, Kansas page 256, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- The Chisholm Trail
- Frank Wilson Blackmar Kansas: A Cyclopedia of State History, Embracing Events ..., Volume 1 Google Books
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).