Sunk Island, Yorkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Sunk Island, Yorkshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes S-YGotoarrow.pngEast Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Sunk Island

Guide to Sunk Island, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Sunk Island, Yorkshire
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Holderness
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Patrington
Registration District Patrington
Records begin
Parish registers: 1820
Bishop's Transcripts: 1820
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Harthill and Hull
Diocese York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Parish History

This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813. Church of England records began in 1820.

SUNK ISLAND, an extra-parochial district, in the union of Patrington, S. division of the wapentake of Holderness, E. riding of York, 4 miles (S. W.) from Patrington, and 20 (S. E. by E.) from Hull. The Wesleyans have a place of worship.[1]

Neighboring Parishes

To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes

Parishes adjacent to SUNK ISLAND
East Riding
East Riding
East Riding
Humber Estuary
W   E
Patrington, Welwick
East Riding
Humber Estuary Humber Estuary Humber Estuary


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from parish registers of Sunk Island exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

IARC = Internet Archive - free
FS =
ANC = (£)
HATH = - free
JOIN = - (£)
SUNK ISLAND PARISH (1820) Online Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1820-1892






AC None



For a full list of all those chapels surrounding **Chapelry** and comprising the whole ancient parish of Sunk Island to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the Sunk Island page.

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, nonconformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the FamilySearch Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464222.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites


  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 261-271. Adapted. Date accessed: 16 October 2013.