Suriname Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Surimane)
Jump to: navigation, search

South America Gotoarrow.png Suriname

Suriname Wiki Topics
Flag of Suriname.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Suriname Background
Local Research Resources

Guide to Suriname ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Country Information

Suriname is a country in South America bordered by French Guiana, Guyana, and Brazil. It was formerly known as Nederlands Guyana, Netherlands Guiana, and Dutch Guiana. The official language is Dutch.[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with Suriname Research

Links to articles on getting started with Suriname research.

Suriname Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Suriname research.

Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Suriname Map

Genealogy records are kept on the district level in Suriname.

Districts of Suriname

Jurisdictions

Genealogy records are kept on the district level in Suriname. Click on a district below to go to the district Wiki article listing more information.

Suriname is divided into 10 districts (distrikten).

  1. Brokopondo
  2. Commewijne
  3. Coronie
  4. Marowijne
  5. Nickerie
  6. Para
  7. Paramaribo
  8. Saramacca
  9. Sipaliwini
  10. Wanica

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.

References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Suriname," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Suriname, accessed 21 April 2016.