Surrey Archives and Libraries

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Surrey Wiki Topics
Surreyflag.gif
Beginning Research
Record Types
Surrey Background
Local Research Resources
England
Surrey
Archives and Libraries

Archives

Surrey History Centre

Surrey History Centre
130 Goldsworth Road
Woking, Surrey GU21 6ND UK
Telephone: 01483 518 737
Email: shs@surreycc.gov.uk
Website: Surrey History Centre

The Surrey History Centre collects and preserves the records of Surrey's past and present, documenting the story of the county and its people from the 12th century to the 21st century. Visiting the centre to use our collections is free, staff are always happy to offer advice, and we have a busy programme of exhibitions, talks and events. The Surrey History Centre replaced the former Surrey Record Office, which had been based in Kingston upon Thames.

Banstead History Centre

Banstead History Centre
Banstead Library
The Horseshoe
Bolters Lane
Banstead, Surrey SM7 2AW UK
Telephone: 0300 200 1001
Email: contact.centre@surreycc.gov.uk
Website: Banstead History Centre

Banstead Local History Centre exists to encourage interest in local and family history in Banstead, Burgh Heath, Chipstead, Hooley, Kingswood, Lower Kingswood, Netherne-on-the-Hill, Preston, Tadworth, Tattenhams, Walton-on-the-Hill and Woodmansterne.

Caterham and District Local History Centre

Caterham and District Local History Centre
Stafford Rd
Caterham, Surrey CR3 6JG UK
Telephone: 0300 200 1001
Email: contact.centre@surreycc.gov.uk
Website: Caterham and District Local History Centre

The local history centre exists to encourage interest in local and family history in the parishes of Caterham, Chaldon, Chelsham, Farleigh, Godstone, Tatsfield, Titsey, Warlingham, Whyteleafe and Woldingham.

Cranleigh Local and Family History Centre

Cranleigh Local and Family History Centre
Cranleigh Library
High Street
Cranleigh, Surrey GU6 8AE UK
Telephone: 0300 200 1001
Email: contact.centre@surreycc.gov.uk
Website: Cranleigh Local and Family History Centre

The local and family history centre exists to encourage interest in local and family history in the parishes of Cranleigh, Shamley Green, Ewhurst, Dunsfold, Alfold and Bramley.

Croydon Local Studies

Croydon Local Studies
Croydon Clocktower
Katharine Street
Croydon, London CR9 1ET UK
Telephone: 020 8253 1022
Email: museum@croydon.gov.uk
Website: Croydon Local Studies

Our collections contain books, photographs, maps, newspapers and other items that illustrate and reflect the wide and varied history of Croydon, invaluable resources for the study of the past, present and future of Croydon.

Epsom and Ewell Local and Family History Centre

Epsom and Ewell Local and Family History Centre
Ewell Library
Bourne Hall
Spring Street
Ewell, Epsom, Surrey KT17 1UF UK
Telephone: 0300 200 1001
Email: contact.centre@surreycc.gov.uk
Website: Epsom and Ewell Local and Family History Centre

The local and family history centre exists to encourage interest in local and family history in Epsom, Ewell, Langley Vale, Stamford Green, Stoneleigh, and Woodcote.

Hayward Memorial Local History Centre Lingfield

Hayward Memorial Local History Centre Lingfield
Lingfield Library
The Guest House
Vicarage Road
Lingfield, Surrey RH7 6HA UK
Telephone: 0300 200 1001
Email: contact.centre@surreycc.gov.uk
Website: Hayward Memorial Local History Centre Lingfield

The local history centre exists to encourage interest in local and family history in Blindley Heath, Crowhurst, Dormansland, Felbridge, Felcourt, Haxted, Horne, Lingfield and South Godstone.

Horley Local History Centre

Horley Local History Centre
Horley Library
Victoria Road
Horley, Surrey RH6 7AG UK
Telephone: 0300 200 1001
Email: contact.centre@surreycc.gov.uk
Website: Horley Local History Centre

The local history centre exists to encourage interest in local and family history in Horley, Burstow, Charlwood, Horne, Salfords and Smallfield.

Kingston History Centre

Kingston History Centre
Guildhall
High Street
Kingston upon Thames, London KT1 1EU UK
Telephone: 020 8547 6738
Email: local.history@kingston.gov.uk
Website: Kingston History Centre

Come and join us at the History Centre (previously called the Local History Room). It is totally free! Our archive and collections are used by members of the public, local historians, genealogists, schools and colleges. If you can't visit us we also offer a research service. You can search our collections catalogue online via this link.

Lambeth Archives

Lambeth Archives
Minet Library
52 Knatchbull Road
London SE5 9QY UK
Telephone: 020 7926 6076
Email: archives@lambeth.gov.uk
Website: Lambeth Archives

Whether you want to trace your family history, a house history, discover the origins of your neighbourhood or look at the records of Lambeth Council, staff will guide you through our collections of historical material and assist you.

Lewisham Local History and Archives Centre

Lewisham Local History and Archives Centre
Lewisham Library
199 201 Lewisham High Street
Lewisham, London SE13 6LG UK
Telephone: 020 8314 8501
Email: local.studies@lewisham.gov.uk
Website: Lewisham Local History and Archives Centre

The Local History and Archives Centre holds historic materials for the borough of Lewisham and is situated in Lewisham Library.
We can help you to discover the history of the borough, the history of houses in the borough (when they were built, and who lived there), the history of an area within the borough, for a school project or for general interest, your family history (ancestors in Lewisham, or general information), and local information on specific topics (for example, famous people who have lived in the borough).

Merton Heritage & Local Studies Centre

Merton Heritage & Local Studies Centre
Morden Library
London Rd
Morden, London SM4 5DX UK
Telephone: 20 8545 3239
Email: local.studies@merton.gov.uk
Website: Merton Heritage & Local Studies Centre

Merton Heritage and Local Studies Centre tells the story of Merton and its people through a changing programme of exhibitions and events. The Centre also offers educational services for local schools and adult learners as well as access to a wide range of local history resources.

Redhill Centre for Local and Family History

Redhill Centre for Local and Family History
Redhill Library
Warwick Quadrant
Redhill, Surrey RH1 1NN UK
Telephone: 0300 200 1001
Email: contact.centre@surreycc.gov.uk
Website: Redhill Centre for Local and Family History

The local and family history centre exists to encourage interest in local and family history in Redhill, Reigate, Bletchingley, Buckland, Earlswood, Gatton, Leigh, Merstham, Nutfield, Salfords and Sidlow.

Richmond upon Thames Local Studies Collection

Richmond upon Thames Local Studies Collection
Old Town Hall
Whittaker Avenue
Richmond, London TW9 1TP UK
Telephone: 020 8734 3309
Email: localstudies@richmond.gov.uk
Website: Richmond upon Thames Local Studies Collection

The Local Studies Collection is based at the Old Town Hall, Richmond and provides access to material relating to the history of the London Borough of Richmond upon Thames. It contains the collections previously held by the former boroughs of Barnes, Richmond and Twickenham.

Southwark Local History Library and Archive

Southwark Local History Library and Archive
211 Borough High Street
London SE1 1JA UK
Telephone: 020 7525 0232
Email: local.history.library@southwark.gov.uk
Website: Southwark Local History Library and Archive

Our search room contains an extensive range of books on all aspects of Southwark’s history. Visitors are welcome to browse all of our resources, including pamphlets and periodicals produced by local organisations, London Post Office directories, local newspapers on microfilm from 1856 to the present (contact us to reserve a microfilm reader), press cuttings and ephemera arranged by subject, family history resources, including name indexes from parish registers and poor law records, and illustrations, maps and films.

Sutton Local Studies & Archives Centre

Sutton Local Studies & Archives Centre
Central Library Level 2A
St Nicholas Way
Sutton, London SM1 1EA UK
Telephone: 020 8770 4747
Email: local.studies@sutton.gov.uk
Website: Sutton Local Studies & Archives Centre

Here is a wealth of information you can use to research anything from local history, archived documents & your family tree.

Wandsworth Local History and Heritage

Wandsworth Local History and Heritage
Battersea Library
265 Lavender Hill
London SW11 1JB UK
Telephone: 020 7223 2334
Email: battersea.library@gll.org
Website: Wandsworth Local History and Heritage

At Battersea Library, we have records for Wandsworth dating back to 1489, a wide range of books and articles Wandsworth's history, and hundreds of old newspapers, maps, plans, census returns and other documents.

Libraries

Addlestone Library

Addlestone Library
Runnymede Civic Centre
Station Road
Addlestone, Surrey KT15 2AF UK
Telephone: 0300 200 1001
Email: contact.centre@surreycc.gov.uk
Website: Addlestone Library

Guildford Library

Guildford Library
77 North Street
Guildford, Surrey GU1 4AL UK
Telephone: 0300 200 1001
Email: contact.centre@surreycc.gov.uk
Website: Guildford Library

Kingston Library

Kingston Library
Fairfield Road
Kingston upon Thames, London KT1 2PS UK
Telephone: 020 8547 5006
Email: kingston.library@kingston.gov.uk
Website: Kingston Library

For a list of Kingston libraries go to Kingston upon Thames Libraries.

Lambeth Libraries

For a list of Lambeth libraries go to Lambeth Libraries and click on Text View.

Richmond upon Thames Libraries

For a list of Richmond upon Thames libraries go to Richmond upon Thames Libraries.

Museums

Chertsey Museum

Chertsey Museum
The Cedars
33 Windsor St
Chertsey, Surrey KT16 8AT UK
Telephone: 1932 565764
Email: enquiries@chertseymuseum.org.uk
Website: Chertsey Museum

We have fine collections, including history of the Runnymede area, local archaeology and history of Chertsey Abbey, fine art, decorative art, social history including many documents and photographs, local clocks, and the nationally significant Olive Matthews Collection of dress and textiles.

Museum of Croydon

Museum of Croydon
Croydon Clocktower
Katharine Street
Croydon, London CR9 1ET UK
Telephone: 020 8253 1022
Email: museum@croydon.gov.uk
Website: Museum of Croydon

Whether you're visiting in person or online, you can explore our galleries, research our collections and find out how to get involved. If you want to find out about the history of Croydon and its people, this is the place to start.

Dorking Museum & Heritage Centre

Dorking Museum & Heritage Centre
62 West St
Dorking, Surrey RH4 1BS UK
Email: admin@dorkingmuseum.org.uk
Website: Dorking Museum & Heritage Centre

East Surrey Museum

East Surrey Museum
1 Stafford Rd
Caterham, Surrey CR3 6JG UK
Telephone: 1883 340275
Email: eastsurreymuseum@gmail.com
Website: East Surrey Museum

The East Surrey Museum is a small but highly attractive museum dedicated to the preservation and display of artefacts and documents relating to the social history, archaeology and geology of East Surrey from the earliest times to the more recent past.

Godalming Museum

Godalming Museum
109a High St
Godalming, Surrey GU7 1AQ UK
Telephone: 1483 426510
Website: Godalming Museum

Kingston Museum

Kingston Museum
Wheatfield Way
Kingston upon Thames, London KT1 2PS UK
Telephone: 020 8547 5006
Email: kingston.museum@rbk.kingston.gov.uk
Website: Kingston Museum

There's lots to see and do. You can browse through photos of our collections for a taster of what we have or visit one of our three permanent exhibitions: Ancient Origins, Eadweard Muybridge, and Town of Kings.

For a long list of Surrey museums, go to List of museums in Surrey in Wikipedia.