Sutton, Surrey Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Sutton, Surrey)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Surrey Gotoarrow.png Surrey Parishes

Guide to Sutton, Surrey ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Sutton, Surrey
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wallington
County Surrey
Poor Law Union Epsom
Registration District Epsom
Records begin
Parish registers: 1636
Bishop's Transcripts: 1679
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Southwark
Diocese Pre-1846 - Winchester; Post-1845 - London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Surrey
Location of Archive
Surrey Record Office

Parish History

SUTTON (St. Nicholas), a parish, in the union of Epsom, Second division of the hundred of Wallington, E. division of Surrey, 5 miles (E. N. E.) from Epsom.[1]

Resources

Church records

Sutton St Nicholas parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Sutton Parish Registers (Ancestry) - (£)[2][3][4][5][6]
AC = Ancestry - (£)[7]
BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[8]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[9]
FSBooks = FamilySearch Books (FamilySearch) - free[10]
IARC = InternetArchive - free[10]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[11]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[12]
Sutton St Nicholas Parish Records Online

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1636-1812 1636-1812 1636-1812 1636-1812 1636-1812 1636-1812
AC 1813-1915 1813-1915 1754-1940 1754-1940 1813-1954 1813-1954
AC 1636-1837 1636-1837 1636-1837
BIVRI 1867-1884
FSBooks 1636-1837 1636-1837 1636-1837
IARC 1636-1837 1636-1837 1636-1837
IGI 1636-1866 1636-1882
NBI 1636-1840
PALL 1780-1837

Sutton Christ Church parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Sutton Christ Church Parish Records Online

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1888-1915 1888-1915 1888-1940 1888-1940

Sutton St Barnabas parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Sutton St Barnabas Parish Records Online

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1884-1915 1884-1915 1884-1940 1884-1940

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474665.


Probate records

Surrey will abstracts (1470-1858) are available online at British Origins (£).[13]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Surrey Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Taxation

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 18 February 2014.
  2. 'About Sutton, Surrey, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 11 April 2016.
  3. 'About Sutton, Surrey, England, Church of England Births and Baptisms, 1813-1915,' Ancestry, accessed 11 April 2016.
  4. 'About Sutton, Surrey, England, Church of England Marriages and Banns, 1754-1940,' Ancestry, accessed 11 April 2016.
  5. 'About Sutton, Surrey, England, Church of England Deaths and Burials, 1813-1985' Ancestry, accessed 11 April 2016.
  6. Reid, John D. 'Ancestry adds Sutton, Surrey records,' Canada's Anglo-Celtic Connections, 9 April 2016, http://anglo-celtic-connections.blogspot.com/2016/04/ancestry-adds-sutton-surrey-records.html, accessed 11 April 2016.
  7. 'About Surrey, England, Extracted Parish Records,' Ancestry, accessed 12 May 2012.
  8. 'Vital Records Index - British Isles - Collection List,' British Isles Vital Records Index, 2nd ed., hosted at Genoot, accessed 14 April 2012.
  9. Batches P013431, C013432, M013431, M013433, and M013434, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Surrey, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 April 2012.
  10. 10.0 10.1 W. Bruce Bannerman, The Parish Registers of Sutton, Co. Surrey, 1636-1837 (1915). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  11. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 11 April 2012. For a breakdown of missing years, see 'National Burial Index - Coverage: Surrey,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 11 April 2012.
  12. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
  13. 'About Surrey and South London Will Abstracts 1470-1858,' Origins.net, accessed 27 June 2012.