Sutton Benger, Wiltshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Sutton Benger, Wiltshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png WiltshireGotoarrow.pngWiltshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Sutton Benger

Guide to Sutton Benger, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Sutton Benger, Wiltshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Malmesbury
County Wiltshire
Poor Law Union Chippenham
Registration District Chippenham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653
Bishop's Transcripts: 1605
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Malmesbury
Diocese Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Wiltshire
Location of Archive
Wiltshire Record Office

Parish History

 SUTTON-BENGER (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Chippenham, hundred of Malmesbury, Chippenham and Calne, and N. divisions of Wiltshire. Four and one half miles (N. N. E.) from Chippenham.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Sutton Benger, Wiltshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

-

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2]
NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.[3]
Sutton Benger, Wiltshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1500s-1800s
NIM 1605-1837
1605-1837
1605-1837

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464199.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 274-280. Date accessed: 16 October 2013.
  2. 'Search more than 99,000 new Wiltshire parish baptism records,' findmypast, accessed 5 June 2014. Coverage year range is not clearly identified.
  3. 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.