Sutton Bonington St Anne, Nottinghamshire Genealogy
Guide to Sutton Bonington St. Anne, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
|Sutton Bonington St Anne, Nottinghamshire|
St Anne Sutton Nottinghamshire.jpg
|Poor Law Union||Loughborough|
|Parish registers: 1560|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1600|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
SUTTON-BONNINGTON, a parish, in the union of Loughborough, S. division of the wapentake of Rushcliffe and of the county of Nottingham, 2 miles (S. E. by E.) from Kegworth. The living consists of the rectories of St. Anne and St. Michael. The tithes of the township of St. Anne were commuted for land in 1774, and those of St. Michael in 1776, under inclosure acts. There is a place of worship for Wesleyan Methodists.
The mediaeval church of St Anne Sutton is an Ancient Parish in the Rushcliffe district of Nottinghamshire.
Sutton Bonington village has two medieval churches, a result of the merging of the two original villages (Sutton and Bonington); they are St Michael's Church (Bonington's parish church, located on Main Street) and St Anne's Church (Sutton's church, located down St Anne's Lane) see Sutton Bonington St Michael, Nottinghamshire
The church of St Anne Sutton Bonington has been designated asa grade II* listed building British listed building
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Sutton Bonington St Anne parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|SUTTON BONINGTON ST ANNE PARISH Online Records|
Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1560-1925 Marriages 1560-1979 Burials 1560-1954 Bishop's Transcripts 1600-1839
Nottinghamshire County Council
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Sutton Bonington St Anne
Sutton Bonnington, St Anne. Alphabetical listing of Memorial Inscriptions dating from 1726, both inside and outside the Church, giving surname, given name, date of death and age. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 54, pages 29-37, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n
Sutton Bonnington, Marlpit Hill Cemetery. Available on line, at the Nottinghamshire Family History Society. Transcription also given dated from 1913, in Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 54, page 41-43, Family History Library Ref 942.52 D25n
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438908.
Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 09 December 2013.
- 'Nottinghamshire baptisms 1538-1980,' 'Nottinghamshire marriages 1528-1929,' 'Nottinghamshire burials 1539-1905,' findmypast, accessed 12 January 2015.
- Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.