Sutton Coldfield, Warwickshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Warwickshire England Gotoarrow.png Warwickshire Parishes

{{Infobox England Jurisdictions
Sutton Coldfield, Warwickshire
Holy Trinity Church, Sutton Coldfield.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Hemlingford
County Warwickshire
Poor Law Union Aston
Registration District Aston
Records begin
Parish registers: 1603; Separate register exist for Hill beginning 1836
Bishop's Transcripts: 1565
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Arden
Diocese Worcester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield and Coventry (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1836 - Court of the Bishop of Worcester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Warwickshire County Record Office

Parish History

SUTTON-COLDFIELD (Holy Trinity), an incorporated market-town and parish, having separate jurisdiction, in the union of Aston, locally in the Birmingham division of the hundred of Hemlingford, N. division of the county of Warwick, 26 miles (N. W.) from Warwick, and 110 (N. W. by N.) from London.[1] Sutton Coldfield Holy Trinity is an Ancient Parish and a market town in the county of Warwickshire. Other places in the parish include: Ashfurlong, Boldmore, Hill, Little Sutton, Hill Hook Moor, Maney, Moor, and Hill Hook.

The increasing population of Sutton Coldfield parish was recognised in the mid-19th century and new ecclesiastical parishes were created from it to better serve the residents of the communities that made up Sutton. The first ecclesiastical parish to be created was Walmley, Warwickshire  in 1846, with the recently completed St. John the Evangelist Church becoming the parish church. Hill became the next ecclesiastical parish in 1853, with its church being  Mere Green St James, WarwickshireBoldmere St Michael, Warwickshire parish was created in 1857, with St. Michael's Church becoming its parish church. Holy Trinity Church was further extended with a north outer aisle and vestries in 1874-9.
Sutton Coldfield (Holy Trinity).

The living is a rectory, valued in the king's books at £33. 9. 2., and in the patronage of William Riland Kirkpatrick Bedford, Esq., by whose family the advowson has been held since the year 1691; net income, £2500. The tithes were commuted for land and cornrents in 1824. The church is an ancient structure, originally built in the 12th century, but subsequently enlarged, and combines various styles of architecture; the aisles were added by Bishop Vesey, and part of the nave which fell down about 70 years since has been rebuilt by the corporation, at an expense of £1500. In the chancel is a recumbent figure of the bishop (who died in 1555, at the age of 103, and was buried here), with a miter on his head, and a crosier in his right hand. There are separate incumbencies at Hill and Warmley, in the parish; and the Roman Catholics have a chapel.

From: 'Sutton-Basset - Sutton-Wick', A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 274-280. URL: http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=51320 Date accessed: 22 February 2011.

HolyTrinity is in the Sutton Coldfield deanery of the Diocese of Birmingham.

Sutton Coldfield has a historical connection to the British Royal Family, resulting in it receiving the title of Royal Town when it was a municipal borough in its own right and part of Warwickshire. When the Local Government Act 1972 came into force in 1974, Sutton Coldfield became part of Birmingham and the wider West Midlands county. Within the City of Birmingham metropolitan borough, it comprises the wards of Sutton Four Oaks, Sutton Trinity, Sutton Vesey and Sutton New Hall. Sutton Trinity ward was created in June 2004, at which time the other three wards' boundaries were changed. From 5 April 2004, it has been a council constituency, with many local services managed by a district committee made up of all Sutton's councilors.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

See West Midlands BMD

Church records

Sutton Coldfield, Warwickshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials (Ancestry) - (£).[2][3]
Sutton Coldfield, Warwickshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1601-1812 1601-1812 1601-1812 1601-1812 1601-1812 1601-1812
AC 1813-1910 1813-1910

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464171.


Poor Law Unions

Aston Poor Law Union, Warwickshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Warwickshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 274-280.
  2. 'Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1535-1812,', Ancestry, accessed 13 June 2014.
  3. 'Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1910,', Ancestry, accessed 1 July 2014.