Sutton St Mary, Lincolnshire Genealogy
Guide to Sutton St Mary, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Sutton St Mary, Lincolnshire|
|Poor Law Union||Holbeach|
SUTTON, LONG (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Holbeach, wapentake of Elloe, parts of Holland, county of Lincoln, 4¾ miles (E. by S.) from Holbeach. The parish comprises, exclusively of its three chapelries of Sutton St. Edmund, St. James, and St. Nicholas. St. Matthew's church, Sutton-Bridge, is in the early English style, and consists of a chancel, nave, north and south aisles, and a tower at the west end; the first stone was laid in July 1841. There are places of worship for Baptists, Independents, Wesleyans, and Unitarians.
Sutton St Mary (sometimes Long Sutton) is an Ancient Parish; other places in the parish include: Central Wingland, Sutton in Holland, and Little Sutton.
The church dates from the 13th century and has the same lead covered timber spire design the crooked spire at Chesterfield, Derbyshire but here there is no similar effect.
A Congregational church from 1813 and a Wesleyan Methodist Chapel built in 1839 together with a Baptist chapel from 1840 are found here.
This parish was part of the Long Sutton sub-district of the Holbeach registration district
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives, St Rumbold Street,Lincoln,Lincolnshire,LN2 5AB,England Enquiries: firstname.lastname@example.org The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue
The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Sutton St Mary Par 1 will identify available images.
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Sutton St Mary
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438754.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 27 August 2013.