Sutton on the Hill, Derbyshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png DerbyshireGotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Guide to Sutton on the Hill, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Sutton on the Hill, Derbyshire
St Michael Sutton-on-the-Hill Derbyshire.JPG
St Michael Sutton-on-the-Hill Derbyshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Appletree
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Burton upon Trent
Registration District Burton upon Trent
Records begin
Parish registers: 1567
Bishop's Transcripts: 1660
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Radbourne
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Parish History

SUTTON-ON-THE-HILL (St. Michael), an ancient parish, in the union of Burton-upon-Trent, hundred of Appletree, S. division of the county of Derby, 8 miles (W. by S.) from Derby; containing, with the hamlet of Ash, and the township of Orleston with Thurvaston. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Staffordshire BMD includes registered births for the Burton upon Trent Registration District . http://www.staffordshirebmd.org.uk/cgi/birthind.cgi?county=staffordshire The registration district prior to 1937 included this parish. From 1937 onwards the Repton district was responsible. Registers are now held at
The Register Office, Royal Oak House, Market Place, Derby, DE1 3AR.
Tel: 01332 256526/35/36. Fax: 01332 256525.
E-mail: registeroffice@derby.gov.uk

Church records

Sutton on the Hill parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FREG = FreeReg.org.uk
FS PR's = FamilySearch Parish Registers
Sutton on the Hill St Michael (1567) Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1813-1840 None None None None None
FS PR's
NONE
NONE
NONE
NONE
NONE
NONE

Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1660-1856 Mar 1660-1856 Burials 1660-1856

Non-Conformist Churches

Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
Primitive Methodist
Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241288.


Poor Law Unions

Burton upon Trent Poor Law Union,Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Sutton on the Hill on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 274-280. Date accessed: 20 May 2013.