Swarkestone, Derbyshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Swarkestone, Derbyshire)
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Derbyshire
Derbyshire Parishes
Swarkestone

Guide to Swarkestone, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Swarkestone, Derbyshire
Swarkestone St James Derbyshire.jpg
Swarkestone St James Derbyshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Repton and Gresley
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Shardlow
Registration District Shardlow
Records begin
Parish registers: 1604
Bishop's Transcripts: 1663
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Stanton by Bridge
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Parish History

Swarkestone, St James is an Ancient Parish; 5 miles (S. by E.) from Derby.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Shardlow registration District GRO volumes : XIX (1837-51); 7b (1852-1946); 3A (1946-74).

Registers are now held at
The Register Office, Royal Oak House, Market Place, Derby, DE1 3AR.
Tel: 01332 256526/35/36. Fax: 01332 256525.
E-mail: registeroffice@derby.gov.uk

Church records

Swarkestone parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
Swarkestone St James (1604) Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1604-1912
  NONE
1605-1912
  NONE
1605-1912
  NONE

Derbyshire Record Office referenceD 1929 has deposited registers Bap 1604_2000 Mar 1604-1756, 1760-2001 Burials 1604-1975 Banns 1760-1789, 1827-1970

Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1663-1868Mar 1663-1835 Burials 1663-1868

Non-Conformist Churches

Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions

Shardlow Poor Law Union, Derbyshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Swarkestone on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 283-286. Date accessed: 20 May 2013.