Sweden Archives and Libraries
|Sweden Wiki Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
Archives collect and preserve original documents of organizations such as churches and governments. Libraries generally collect published sources such as books, maps, and microfilm. This section describes the major repositories of genealogical and historical records and sources for Sweden.
If you plan to visit any of these repositories, contact the organization and ask for information about their hours, services, and fees. When writing to an archives in Sweden, you may write in English.
Although the records you need may be in an archives or library in Sweden, the Family History Library and the Swenson Swedish Immigration Research Center at Augustana College in Illinois may have microfilm copies of them. The Swenson Swedish Immigration Research Center sells microfilm copies of the records.
See Sweden Societies for the address.
Types of Genealogical Repositories in Sweden
- National archives and libraries
- Provincial archives
- City archives
- Church parish offices
- Historical and genealogical societies
The Sweden government collects records relating to Sweden history, culture, and people. The National Archives of Sweden, which is open to the public, has a large genealogical and biographical collection as well as government accounts, land records, tax lists, maps, and pictures. The Family History Library has microfilm copies of many of the National Archives' records. The postal address is:
Postal Address: Box 12541, S-102 29 Stockholm, Sweden
Street Address: Fyrverkarbacken 13-17, Stockholm, Sweden
Telephone: 011-46-8-737 63 50
Fax: 011-46-8-737 64 74
Some databases at the National Archives can be accessed from the internet and directions are in English.
The following is a guide to the National Archives' collection:
- Jägerskiöld, Olof. Riksarkivet 1618-1968 (National Archives 1618- 1968). Stockholm, Sweden: P.A. Norstedt & Söner, 1968. (FHL book 948.5 J5j.)
Svensk Arkivinformation, SVAR (Swedish Archives Information) is a division of the National Archives. The goal of SVAR is to make archives material available for research and education. SVAR will copy and distribute archives material and index information. SVAR has a research facility in Ramsele, Sweden.
- Svensk Arkivinformation (SVAR)
Postal Address: Box 160, S-880 40 Ramsele, Sweden
Street Address: Kägelbacken 6, Ramsele, Sweden
Telephone: 011-46-623-725 00
Fax: 011-46-623-725 55
Internet: http://www.svar.ra.se/ Information is online in English (and Swedish).
There are eight regional archives in Sweden. They house records pertaining to their particular area. Most Swedish records of genealogical value are kept at the provincial archives, including church records such as birth, marriage, and death records; census records; land records; emigration records; and court records. Each provincial archives has a large collection of printed material about its area, including local histories, biographies, and other genealogical material. The provincial archives are open to the public. Each archives has different hours of service, so make sure you know days and times before visiting.
- Landsarkivet i Göteborg (GLA)
Västra Götaland County
Postal Address: Box 19035, 400 12 Göteborg, Sweden
Street Address: Geijersgatan 1
Telephone: 031-778 68 00
Fax: 031-778 68 25
- Landsarkivet i Härnösand (HLA)
Gävleborg, Norrbotten, Västerbotten and Västernorrland Counties
Postal Address: Box 161, 871 01 Härnösand, Sweden
Street Address: Rosenbäcksallén 18
Telephone: 0611-835 00
Fax: 0611-835 28
- Landsarkivet i Lund (LLA)
Blekinge, Halland, Kristianstad and Skåne Counties
Postal Address: Box 2016, 220 02 Lund, Sweden
Street Address: Dalbyvägen 4
Telephone: 046-19 70 00
Fax: 046-19 70 70
- Landsarkivet i Uppsala (ULA)
Dalarna, Södermanland, Uppsula, Västmanland and Örebro Counties
Postal Address: Box 135, 751 04 Uppsala, Sweden
Street Address: Dag Hammarskjölds väg 19
Telephone: 018-65 21 00
Fax: 018-65 21 03
- Landsarkivet i Vadstena (VaLA)
Jönköping, Kalmar, Kronoberg and Östergötland Counties
Postal Address: Box 126, 592 23 Vadstena, Sweden
Street Address: Slottet
Telephone: 0143-130 30
Fax: 0143-102 54
- Landsarkivet i Visby (ViLA)
Postal Address: Broväg 27, 621 41 VISBY, Sweden
Street Address: Broväg 27, 621 41 VISBY
Telephone: 0498-21 05 14
Fax: 0498-21 29 55
- Landsarkivet i Östersund (OLA)
Postal Address: Arkivvägen 1, 831 31 Östersund, Sweden
Street Address: Arkivvägen 1 (Museiplan)
Telephone: 063-10 84 85
Fax: 063-12 18 24
- Värmlandsarkiv (VA)
Postal Address: Box 475, 651 11 Karlstad, Sweden
Street Address: Hööksgatan 2
Telephone: 054-10 77 30
Fax: 054-10 77 31
The city archives of Stockholm and Malmö are comparable to the provincial archives.
- Stockholms Stadsarkiv (SSA)
Stockholm City and County
Postal Address: Box 22063, S-104 22 Stockholm, Sweden
Street Address: Kungsklippan 6
Telephone: 08-508 283 01
Fax: 08-508 283 01
- Stadsarkivet i Malmö (MSA)
Address: Stora Varvsgatan 11, 211 19 Malmö, Sweden
Telephone: 040-10 53-30
Fax: 040-97 51 05
- Krigsarkivet (KRA)
Postal Address: Krigsarkivet, 115 88 Stockholm, Sweden
Street Address: Banergatan 64
Telephone: 08-782 41 00
Fax: 08-782 69 76
Also see Sweden Military Records.
Church Parish Offices
Post-1895 church records are now mostly moved to the Provincial Archives of the area (parts of Lund archives area and Göteborg archives area have not yet been moved). Each archives has a section on their web site, called Folkbokföring, where you might find a list of the records transferred to the archive.
Parishes may also have earlier records on microform. You can write to local parishes for information. See Swedish Church Records.
Historical and Genealogical Societies
In Sweden there are many historical and genealogical societies. Some societies maintain libraries and archives that collect valuable records. For more information, including addresses, see Sweden Societies.
Inventories, Registers, Catalogs
Some archives have websites, catalogs, inventories, guides, or periodicals that describe their records and how to use them. If possible, study these guides before you visit or use the records of an archives so that you can use your time more effectively. The Family History Library has some of these guides. They are listed in the Family History Catalog under:
SWEDEN - ARCHIVES AND LIBRARIES - INVENTORIES, REGISTERS, CATALOGS.
The Kungliga Biblioteket (Royal Library) has a helpful collection of published genealogies, manuscripts, histories, directories, maps, and newspapers.
- Kungliga Biblioteket
Postal Box 5039
SE-102 41 Stockholm
Street address: Humlegården
Tel:+46 8 463 40 00
Fax:+46 8 463 40 04
- Archives Portal Europe provides access to information on archival material from Sweden as well as information on archival institutions throughout the European continent.