Syria Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Syria)
Jump to: navigation, search

Middle East Gotoarrow.png Syria

Syria Wiki Topics
Flag of Syria.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Syria Background
Local Research Resources

Guide to Syria ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Country Information

Syria is a country in the Middle East bordered by Lebanon, Turkey, Iraq, Jordan, and Israel. It was formerly known as the Levant and under Ottoman rule. The official language is Arabic.[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with Syria Research

Links to articles on getting started with Syria research.

Syria Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Syria research.

Syria Map

Syria is divided into 14 governorates.

Governorate Capital
Syria governates.png
1 Latakia Latakia
2 Idlib Idlib
3 Aleppo Aleppo
4 Al-Raqqah Al-Raqqah
5 Al-Hasakah Al-Hasakah
6 Tartus Tartus
7 Hama Hama
8 Deir ez-Zor Deir ez-Zor
9 Homs Homs
10 Damascus
11 Rif Dimashq
12 Quneitra Quneitra
13 Daraa Daraa
14 Al-Suwayda Al-Suwayda

Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Syria Clickable Map

Genealogy records are kept on the [blank] level in Syria. Click on a place below to go to the corresponding Wiki article listing more information.


Jurisdictions

Genealogy records are kept on the [blank] level in Syria. Click on a place below to go to the corresponding Wiki article listing more information.

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.

References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Syria," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Syria, accessed 21 April 2016.