Tårs Parish, Hjørring, Denmark Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.png Denmark Gotoarrow.pngHjørring County Gotoarrow.pngTårs

Guide to Tårs, Hjørring, Denmark ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

History

(Write information such as: how old the parish is, interesting facts about the parish, what alternate names it has, or any boundary changes.)

Add here
Jurisdictions
Stift (diocese) Add here
Pastorat (chapelry) Add here
Amt (county) 1662 - 1793 Børglum
Amt (county) 1794 - 1970 Hjørring
Herred (district) Børglum
Kommune (municipality) Add here
1788 – 1793 Lægd number 9
1794 – 1869 Lægd number 39
Gods (estate) Add here


Place Names

Agdrup, Amdal, Askebjerg,

Bagerholm, Bakken, Barholt, Barholts Dal, Bedelund, Birkedal, Birket, Bjerge, Bjørnstrup, Bjørnstrup Mark, Boller, Boller Hede, Boller Mark, Boller Møllebæk, Boller Møllegaard, Boller Mølle, Boller Skov, Borup, Borup Mark, Brobak, Broen, Brogaard, Baalhøj, Bøgelund, Bøgholm, Bøjet, Bøjet Huse, Bøjholm,

Dal, Dalhus, Dalsmølle, Dalsmølle Bæk, Damly, Djævleøen,

Engen, Engholm,

Fejersholt, Follebakke, Follebjerg, Freden, Fredenshus, Fælden,

Gammel Møjen, Gammel Rønnebjerg, Gammel Sæsing, Gammel Taars, Gildsig, Granholt, Granly, Gravum, Græsdal, Græsdal Bæk, Gurrehus,

Harbjerg, Harken, Harpsø, Harpsø Mark, Hatholt, Havelund, Haven, Hedevang, Hejerholt, Hejselbæk, Hejselholt, Hejselholt Mark, Hjabelund, Hjorthede, Hjulet, Holtegaard, Holtet, Hovstrup, Hovstrupgaard, Hovstruplund, Hvedeborn, Hvidsted, Hvidstedgaard, Hvidstedgaards Mark, Hvidsted Mark, Højbjerg, Højgaard, Højmark, Højvang, Haabendal, Haasen,

Ilbjerge,

Jernskov,

Kageløs, Karmisholt, Karmisholt Mark, Klarup, Koldbro, Koldbro Park, Koldbrohus, Kragdrup, Kragdrup Bæk, Kragvad, Kratlund, Krogen, Krogsholt, Kæret, Kærvang,

Landlyst, Lille Agdrup, Lille Dal, Lille Engen, Lille Graum, Lille Harpsø, Lille Haasen, Lille Klarup, Lille Rugholm, Lille Skæggesholt, Lille Sørup, Lille Volsholt, Lindholt, Lindholt Hede, Lophøj, Lunken, Lykkenshede, Lysholt, Løvbrønd,

Mejlvang, Melhaven, Mellem Morild, Meller Graum, Mellergaard, Menholt, Morild, Møjen,

Neder Klarup, Nedergaard, Nibstrup, Ny Boller, Ny Graum, Ny Harpsø, Ny Hjabelund, Ny Møjen, Ny Vogdrup, Nygaard, Nymark, Nørgaard, Nørlund, Nørlundmølle, Nørre Graum, Nørre Harpsø, Nørre Hjabelund, Nørre Haasen, Nørre Rom, Nørre Skovgaard, Nørre Sørup, Nørre Taars, Nørregaardsminde,

Orholt, Over Grenen, Overgaard, Over Klarup, Over Sørup, 

Plumbjerg,

Rattisodde, Rattisoddehus, Ravnebakke, Renden, Risdal, Riskær, Rolighed, Rom, Ronten, Rugholm, Rævebakke,

Skerne, Skiveren, Skiveren Skole, Skovbakke, Skrold, Skæggesholt, Smalby, Snorbakken, Solvang, Stamhus, Stenbroen, Stendal, Stendal Mark, Stensgaard, Stenslund, Stoksted, Stoksted Mark, Store Engen, Store Harpsø, Store Krogen, Store Skæggesholt, Store Volsholt, Storgaard, Stovhøj, Svenstrup, Sæsing, Sæsing Bæk, Sønderbroen, Sønder Graum, Søndergaard, Sønder Haven, Sønder Hjabelund, Sønder Hovstrup, Sønder Haasen, Sønder Karmisholt, Sønder Klarup, Sønder Koldbro, Sønder Kragvad, Sønder Krogen, Søndermarken, Sønder Rom, Sønder Skovgaard, Sønder Stoksted, Sønder Taars, Sørup, Sørup Mark, Søruplund,

Tegldalen, Tenterhave, Terpet, Tidemandsholm, Tidemandsholm Mark, Tidemandsholm Skov, Tranget, Trangethus, Troldhøj, Tykskov, Taars, Taars Hammerværk, Taars Hede,

Vanggaard, Vejensgaard, Vester Borup, Vester Bøjet, Vester Bøjholm, Vester Græsdal, Vestergaard, Vester Haven, Vester Hjabelund, Vester Haasen, Vester Karmisholt, Vester Koldbro, Vester Kragdrup, Vester Kragvad, Vestermark, Vester Morild, Vester Rattisodde, Vesterskov, Vester Stoksted, Vester Vogdrup, Voerhøj, Volsbjerg, Volsdam, Volsholt,

Øksenvad, Ørum, Øster Bøjet, Øster Bøjholm, Øster Graum, Øster Græsdal, Øster Heden, Øster Højbjerg, Øster Karmisholt, Øster Kragdrup, Øster Krogen, Øster Lie, Øster Morild, Øster Rattisodde, Øster Stoksted, Øster Vogdrup, Østerbroen, Østerheden,

Aas, Aas Mark, Aas Møllegaard

To see what kind of place it is you will need a Danish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes

Hjørring amt: Jerslev, Lendum, Skt. Olai, Torslev, Ugilt, Vrejlev

Birth, Marriage, and Death Online Records

  • Free Online Database:
The vast majority of research you do in Denmark will be in church parish registers, which are held in the Danish State Archives available online at ARKIVALIERONLINE. Select your county and parish from the drop-down lists.
  • Help Reading Danish Records:
Denmark Parish Register Headings provides translated examples of parish headings. You will be able to interpret much of what is in the records using these headings. Danish Word List covers typical terms found in the records. Fixed and Moveable Feast Days for: Denmark will help you translate dates written in feast day form. Denmark surnames are patronymic and change every generation, so carefully study Denmark Names, Personal.
  • Help Reading Old Handwriting:
FamilySearch offers free online lessons about reading old Danish handwriting: Reading Scandinavian Gothic Handwritten Records Lesson 1: Scandinavian Gothic Letters, Lesson 2: Names, Words, and Dates, and Lesson 3: Handwritten Records
  • Knowing What to Look for Next:
To understand the best research strategies for these records, see Denmark Church Records Christenings Guide.


Collections

  • Lægdsruller, Danish Military Levying Rolls, is a census of men eligible to join military (1789-1932)
What's on Lægdsruller and Søruller
Danish Military Levying Rolls (Lægdsruller)

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg



Family History Library Records

Click Denmark, Hjørring Records for a full listing of records at the Family History Library, that may be viewed on loan at a Family History Center near you. Click on "Places within Denmark, Hjørring" and then select your parish.

References

- Krabsen & Medici. "Krabsens Stednavnebase." <http://www.krabsen.dk/stednavnebase/>, Dec 2011.

- Trap, J. P., ed. Kongeriget Danmark, 4th ed. Vol. 5, Hjørring, Thisted, Aalborg, Viborg og Randers Amter. København: G. E. C. Gads Forlag, 1901.