Taiwan Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Taiwan)
Jump to: navigation, search
Taiwan Wiki Topics
Taiwan flag.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Taiwan Background
Local Research Resources
Moderator
The FamilySearch moderator for Taiwan is Chincm
Asia
Taiwan

Guide to Taiwan, family history and genealogy parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Country Information

Taiwan is an island country in the Pacific Ocean. Its nearest neighbors are China, Japan, and the Philippines. It was formerly under the rule of China and Japan. The official language is Mandarin.[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with Taiwan Research

Links to articles on getting started with Taiwan research.

Taiwan Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Taiwan research.

Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Taiwan Map

Taiwan map.png

Jurisdictions

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Taiwan.

Taiwan does not have a central repository for Birth, Marriage, and Death records. Instead everything is recorded with local government offices.

Begin with the following list of counties, municipalities, and special administrative regions:

Counties

Municipalities

Special Municipalities

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.

References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Taiwan," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Taiwan, accessed 21 April 2016.