Tajikistan Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Tajikstan)
Jump to: navigation, search
Tajikistan Wiki Topics
Flag of Tajikistan.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Tajikistan Background
Local Research Resources
Asia
Tajikistan


Guide to Tajikistan ancestry, family history and genealogy parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Country Information

Tajikistan is a country in Asia bordered by Uzbekistan, Kyrgyzstan, China, and Afghanistan. It was formerly ruled by Russia and the Soviet Union. The official language is Persian (Tajik).[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with Tajikistan Research

Links to articles on getting started with Tajikistan research.

Tajikistan Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Tajikistan research.

Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Tajikistan Map

Genealogy records are kept on the province level in Tajikistan. Tajikistan is divided into two provinces (viloyatho, singular - viloyat) and one autonomous province* (viloyati mukhtor):

  • Viloyati Sughd (Khujand)___ 1
  • Region of Republican Subordination___ 2
  • Viloyati Khatlon___ 3
  • Viloyati Mukhtor Gorno Badakhshon___ 4

Tajikistan provinces.png

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.

References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Tajikistan," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tajikistan, accessed 21 April 2016.