The FamilySearch Research Wiki is delighted to let you know that the “Poland Genealogy” article you helped create will be highlighted on the Main Page of the Wiki. It will appear December 12, 2012 and remain for seven days. Thank you for your excellent work – you have given readers/researchers important access to records. Your contributions are appreciated and will assist others in finding their ancestors. You have made a difference in research!
We invite you to do any enhancing, editing or changing to this article before we post it. If you are considering an edit we ask that it be completed byDecember 11, 2012. If you feel this article is not ready to be highlighted, please let us know. Thank you for your time and effort!
Featured Article Committee members –
Old content to be moved by Danielle
- Holdings of the Polish State Archives
- Parish Finder Use correct Polish diacritical marks.
- Source for latest digitized parish registers This is a great source for finding those online records!
- AGAD Digitized records from the Eastern areas of Poland now in Ukraine. Click here for instructions.
- Church Registers Indexing - Lublin region
- GenBaza Digitized records from the various archives in Poland. Click here for instructions.
- Geneteka database Church Registers Indexing Project.
- Polish State Archives Digitized records from the Polish State Archives. Click here for instructions.
- Pomeranian Genealogical Association Pomeranian church books
- Pomeranian Genealogical Association Pomeranian cemeteries
- Poznan Marriage Indexing Project
- Roman Catholic Church Registers Online
- State Archive in Olsztyn Digitized records for an area in West Prussia.
- Szczecin State Archives online records in Pommerania, civil and church records included
- Links to online records for Wroclaw/Breslau Standesamt 1
- Links to online records for Wroclaw/Breslau Standesamt 1 (Another jumping off point)
- Link to Breslau Standesamt II This is from 1889-1910. It covers the time period which was not microfilmed.
- Link to Breslau Standesamt III This covers 1891-1911. This Standesamt (civil registration office) existed from 1891-1945.
- A new addition to the Matricula site for the Breslau archives which is starting to digitize.
- Radom Roman Catholic Church Books, 1587-1966. Newly updated images and indexes of church books containing baptisms and births, marriages, burials and deaths for the parishes in the Radom Roman Catholic Diocese of Poland. Births end in 1912, marriages in 1937, and deaths in 1982.
Polish vital records are becoming available online. However, there is no central online repository for these records. Use Księgi parafialne (Polish for “Church Books”) Portal to check availability of Polish records online. This Polish site lists, by province, every town that has vital records and/or indexes available online and links are included to get you there. As such, this site is only helpful once you’ve discovered the name of the town from which your ancestors came. Most of the websites are in Polish.
Extensive extraction of Catholic Church records for the parishes of Medrzechow, Kupienin and Samocice, Poland have been completed and are available. For more information see the Polish Parish Extraction Project page.