Tanzania Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Africa Gotoarrow.png Tanzania

Tanzania Wiki Topics
Flag of Tanzania.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Tanzania Background
Local Research Resources

Guide to Tanzania ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Country Information

Tanzania is a country in Africa bordered by the Democratic Republic of Congo (Zaire), Burundi, Rwanda, Zambia, Uganda, Kenya, Malawi, and Mozambique. Portions of the country were formerly governed by Portugal and Germany. The official languages are Swahili and English.[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with Tanzania Research

Links to articles on getting started with Tanzania research.

Tanzania Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Tanzania research.


Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Tanzania Map

Genealogy records are kept on the region level in Tanzania. Tanzania map.png

Jurisdictions

Genealogy records are kept on the region level in Tanzania. Tanzania is divided into 26 regions:

  • Arusha
  • Dar es Salaam
  • Dodoma
  • Iringa
  • Kagera
  • Kigoma
  • Kilimanjaro
  • Lindi
  • Manyara
  • Mara
  • Mbeya
  • Morogoro
  • Mtwara
  • Mwanza
  • Pemba North
  • Pemba South
  • Pwani
  • Rukwa
  • Ruvuma
  • Shinyanga
  • Singida
  • Tabora
  • Tanga
  • Zanzibar Central/South
  • Zanzibar North
  • Zanzibar Urban/West

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.

Religious Records =

References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Tanzania," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tanzania, accessed 20 April 2016.