Tattenhall, Cheshire Genealogy
Guide to Tattenhall, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
St Alban's Church, Tattenhall Cheshire
|Poor Law Union||Great Boughton|
|Registration District||Great Boughton|
|Parish registers: 1654|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1579|
|Diocese||Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester|
|Probate Court||Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Cheshire Record Office|
TATTENHALL (St. Alban), is a parish, in the union of Great Boughton, Lower division of the hundred of Broxton, South division of the county of Chester; containing, with the townships of Golborn-Bellow and Newton, it is 5¾ miles (S. W. by W.) from Tarporley. The township is intersected by the Chester and Crewe railway. Besides the church, there are places of worship for Independents and Wesleyans.
Tattenhall St Alban's is an Ancient Parish in Cheshire and includes Golbourn [Golbourne] Bellow and Newton by Tattenhall.
It is thought that a church may have existed on this site at the time of the Norman conquest. The tower and parts of the present church date from the early 16th century. The church was restored and largely remodelled in 1869–1870 by John Douglas.
The settlement of Tatenale was recorded in the Domesday Book of 1086. The name is believed to be derived from the Old English personal name Tata and halh, meaning "a meadow". The spelling of the village has altered over the centuries: Tatenhala (1280), Tattenhall (1289), Tatnall (1473), Tottenhall (1553) and Tettenhall (1649).
Tattenhall is a village and civil parish, 8 miles south-east of Chester, in the unitary authority of Cheshire West and Chester and the ceremonial county of Cheshire, England.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241232.
Tattenhall St Alban parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:
|BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts|
|Tattenhall St Alban Parish (1579) Online Records|
|FS PR's|| 1664-1909
|FS BT'S||1664-1902|| NONE
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Parish registers for Tattenhall, 1654-1947 Cheshire Record Office reference: P 5/1/1-2, P 5/2/1-4, P 5/3/1-4, P 5/4A, P 5/4B/1-3.
An index for Cheshire parish registers is available online in FamilySearch Historical Records
|Parish Registers Content||FHL Film|
|Baptisms, 1654- Jan. 1831. Marriages, 1654-1762. Burials, 1654-1812.|| BRITISH |
2068755 Items 9 - 11
|Baptisms, July 1830-1942. Marriages, 1763-1947. Banns of marriages, 1823-1905. Burials, 1813-1945.|| BRITISH |
|Banns of marriages, 1856-1902.|| BRITISH |
2068758 Item 3
Bishop's transcripts for Tattenhall, 1579-1902 Records are not arranged in strict chronological order. Some intermittent years are missing. Cheshire Record Office reference: EDB/221
An index for Cheshire, Church of England, Bishop’s Transcripts (Diocese of Chester) is available online in Family Search Historical Records
|Bishop's transcripts Content||FHL Film|
|Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1579-1580, 1583, 1586, 1599-1602, 1604-1606, 1608, 1613-1614, 1617-1618, 1622, 1624, 1639-1641, 1664, 1666-1693, 1697, 1700-1701, 1710-1711, 1713-1742, 1745-1748, 1751-1760, 1763, 1766-1779, 1780-1790, 1796-1802, 1804-1830. Marriages, 1779.|| BRITISH |
1836287 Item 2
|Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1831-1838, 1840-1842, 1844-1854, 1856-1857. Baptisms, burials, 1839, 1843, 1858-1872, 1874-1902. Baptisms, 1855, 1873.|| BRITISH |
1836288 Item 1
- Tattenhall, United Reformed Church (Independent/Congregational). Built in 1796. Registers of baptisms 1798–1853 and baptisms, marriages and burials 1955–1962 are at the Cheshire Record Office.
- Tattenhall, Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan). Founded in 18th century, closed in 1937.
- Tattenhall, Methodist Chapel (Primitive). Built in 1809, rebuilt in 1898, closed in 1979. Registers 1926–1979 are at the Cheshire Record Office.
Church records, 1798-1935 Tattenhall Congregational Church (Independent)
Record contains baptisms, 1928-1935, marriages, 1929-1934, death, 1930, baptisms, 1798-1851, 1798-1820.
Cheshire Record Office Reference: EUC 3151/58/1-2
|Other Content||FHL Film|
|Church records||BRITISH 1736979 Items 5-6|
Cheshire Record Office Reference EMS 341/6192 Tattenhall Primitive Methodist Chapel records
Date 1904-1957 Papers relating to trustees, including list of trustees, 1956
Cheshire Record Office Reference EMS 262 Tattenhall Primitive Methodist Chapel
Date 1926-1979 Register of marriages
History The chapel was built in 1898 on the site of an earlier one built in 1809, and closed in 1979.
Cheshire Record Office Reference EMS 306 Tattenhall Lanes Wesleyan Chapel Date 1863-1955 Administrative and financial records A chapel was built before 1800. A new building was erected in 1863. This was closed in 1937 and subsequently sold. Extent 7 files
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:
- Great Boughton (1837–69)
- Chester (1870–1937)
- West Cheshire (1937–74)
- Chester and Ellesmere Port (1974–98)
- Cheshire West (post 1998)
Poor Law Unions
- Great Boughton (1837–71)
- Tarvin (1871–1930) Tarvin (previously Great Boughton) Poor Law Union, Cheshire
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Tattenhall on GENUKI
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date Accessed: 10 April 2013
- 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 14 October 2013.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
Pevsner, Nikolaus; Edward Hubbard (2003) , The Buildings of England: Cheshire, New Haven: Yale University Press, p. 354, ISBN 0 300 09588 0Richards, Raymond (1947), Old Cheshire Churches, London: B. T Batsford, pp. 324–328