Taylor County, West Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Taylor, West Virginia)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png West Virginia Gotoarrow.png Taylor County

Guide to Taylor County, West Virginia ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}


Taylor County, West Virginia
Map
Map of West Virginia highlighting Taylor County
Location in the state of West Virginia
Map of the U.S. highlighting West Virginia
Location of West Virginia in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 19, 1844
County Seat Grafton
Courthouse
Address Taylor County Courthouse
214 W Main Street
Grafton, WV 26354-1387
304-265-1401


County Information


Taylor County, West Virginia Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1853 1853 1850 1844 1844

County Courthouse

Taylor County

  • County Clerk has birth, marriage, death probate and land records from 1853
  • Land records from 1853
  • Circuit Court Clerk has divorce and court records[1]

History

Taylor County, West Virginia was created on 19 January 1844 from parts of Barbour, Marion, and Harrison Counties in Virginia. Taylor County remained part of Virginia until West Virginia was created as a state on 20 June 1863. The county seat is in Grafton, but was originally at Cross Roads. Cross Roads was renamed Williamsport 1 January 1801 and was again renamed on 23 January 1845 as Pruntytown.
West Virginia became a state during the Civil War. Most of the records that were held in Virginia before West Virginia was admitted to the Union were transferred to West Virginia upon statehood, but some of the records from before 1863 may still be found in Virginia. The Tygart Valley River moves through Taylor County, and is the main waterway that provided sustenance to the farmers and other laborers in the County. Taylor County is historically the home of miners and freed former slaves. Taylor County is proudly the home of Mother’s Day founder Anna Jarvis.

Parent County

1844--Taylor County was created 19 January 1844 from Harrison, Barbour and Marion Counties.
County seat: Grafton [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating West Virginia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation West Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places / Localities

Taylor County

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
WVGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
WVGenWeb Archives
WVTombstone Project
Interment
WVGravestones
EPodunk
Billion Graves
See West Virginia Cemeteries for more information.

Census


For tips on accessing Taylor County, West Virginia Genealogy census records online, see: West Virginia Census.


Court

Land

● Four different sets of court records on film, covering the years 1844 to 1927: FHL Catalog
● Land records on film and book at FHL covering 1844 to 1970: FHL Catalog

Local Histories

Maps

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Taylor County, West Virginia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Taylor County, West Virginia Genealogy:

- 3rd Regiment, Virginia State Line (Cavalry and Infantry) (Confederate). Company C.
- 9th Battalion, Virginia Infantry (Hansbrough's) (Confederate). Company A (Letcher Guard), Captain George W. Hansbrough's Company.[2]

Records and histories are available, including:

Naturalization

Probate

Online Probate Records

Taylor County, West Virginia Will Books 1844 - 1969
West Virginia Will Books

Taxation

Online West Virginia Tax site

West Virginia real and personal property tax records are managed by the County Assessor in each county. Land and land improvements are considered real property while mobile property is classified as personal property.

Many County Assessors offer an online searchable database, where assessment record searches can be performed by name, account number, year, or mp/parcel number. Where online records are not available, requests for records can be made to the Assessment Office in person, by phone, or in writing.

The search for tax information can start here

Vital Records

. Includes marriages 1853-1970 - free.

Birth
  • West Virginia Division of Culture and History search Birth Records: Birth Records
  • West Virginia, Births Index, 1853-1969, available on Ancestry.com Ancestry.com
Marriage
Death
  • West Virginia Division of Culture and History search Death Records: WV Culture
  • West Virginia, Deaths Index, 1853-1973, available on Ancestry.com Ancestry
  • West Virginia Cemetery Readings, 1941, available on Ancestry.com Ancestry

Societies and Libraries

See also a List of West Virginia Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Taylor County Historical and Genealogical Society, Inc;
P O Box 522
Grafton, WV 26354

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Web Sites


 Learning How to Edit our Wiki Sites
www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/Help:Contributor_Help
Hands on keyboard.png Genealogy courses: Learn how to research from an expert in Fun Five Minute Genealogy Videos.


References

  1. 1.0 1.1 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Richard L. Armstrong, 25th Virginia Infantry and 9th Battalion Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1990). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 71.

Retrieved from "https://familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=Taylor_County,_West_Virginia_Genealogy&oldid=2739263"