Tedstone Wafer, Herefordshire Genealogy
Guide to Tedstone Wafer, Herefordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Tedstone Wafer, Herefordshire|
Remains of Tedstone Wafer St James Herefordshire
|Poor Law Union||Bromyard|
|Parish registers: 1729|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1660|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Hereford (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Herefordshire Record Office|
TEDSTONE-WAFER, a parish, in the union of Bromyard, hundred of Broxash, county of Hereford, 3¾ miles (N. E. by N.) from Bromyard. 
Tedstone Wafer St Mary was an Ancient Parish in Herfordshire and part of the parish boundary formed part of the county boundary with neighbouring Lower Sapey, Worcestershire; the village and civil parish is Tedstone Wafer. Although classified as an Ancient Parish St Mary was possibly an independent chapel (Guide to the Local Administrative Units of England, Volume II Northern England by Frederic A. Youngs)
The former church of St Mary has been designated as a grade C listed bulding British listed building
The church of St Mary was declared redundant on 26 September 1974; the united benfice of Edvin Loach and Tedstone Wafer had been created in 1972 from Edvin Loach, Worcestershire see Edvin Loach & Tedstone Wafer, Worcestershire
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through the FHC Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
Category:England Family History Centres to locate local Family History Centres in UK
Introduction to LDS Family History Centers to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.
Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)
The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Herefordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 310-314. Accessed and adapted 7 May 2013.
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.