From FamilySearch Wiki
What do you want to learn about your ancestor?
- Browse by Topic: Pages for Wales
- Research Strategy: Searching for Ancestors in Wales Before 1700
- Database of early Welsh families: Welsh Families Project
- FamilySearch: Welsh Records
- Emigration: The Mimosa
- Article: Wales Missing Census Records
- Research Places: Aberkenfig Resource Centre & Cefn Mawr Resource Centre
- National Library of Wales Record: Manuscript Pedigrees
The ancient counties
News and events
- As of 1 April 2009 the National Library of Wales will be closed on Saturdays in an attempt to cut costs.
- The National Library of Wales at Aberystwyth has begun a £20 million project to make large parts of its collection available on-line. The project will take 10 years to complete and will involve the digitising of millions of documents, newspapers and books.
- The next national Census in Wales will be held on 27 March, 2011. A "rehearsal" of this 2011 census will take place in Anglesey on 11 October, 2009 and will involve about 34,000 households.
- BBC Wales have relaunched their website on Welsh Family History
- FamilySearch is now receiving Welsh parish registers on microfilm.
- Americymru is planning to hold a major event in Portland in August 2009. The "Left Coast Eisteddfod" will be a celebration of all things Welsh and in particular of the American Welsh heritage which has so enriched the history of America.
- 14 Feb 2009: Clwyd Family History Society - "Monumental Inscriptions", at St. David's Church Hall, Mold, Flintshire, Wales.
- 21 February 2009: DNA and Welsh Family History Past, Present and Future by Mr. Brian Swann in connection with the Dyfed Family History Society Annual General Meeting.
Things you can do
- Participate in the Wales study group
- Plan Your Research Trip to Wales
- Take one of many Welsh Language Courses
more Wales Websites